We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place!”
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #2 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Once we managed to find the correct gateway into the property we thought it was terrific. The room was large but cosy and I challenge anyone to think of anything else that you could need as a traveller that was not in the room. Amazingly thoughtful touches. The grounds were super - especially all the birds and animals that were around. Breakfast was wonderful and the management couldn't have been better. Having our car cleaned each day was a bonus too.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

This place has a really lovely garden with a small lake, lovely flowers and birds and zebras in the garden. Breakfast was delicious. Our room was fine, very large but I just did not like it, I can’t really explain I just didn’t feel relaxed. It had a four poster bed, which was a bit twee, although the room was decorated in a modern way, but with African bits on the walls. A bit of a mismatch. The gardens and breakfast were good though.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sleepingbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in the XL Suite which is situated in the loft of the building. We loved every moment of it. This Guest House is run by a German couple, and you shall receive the service you expect from Germans.
The Suite consisted of bedroom with large kingsize bed, nice firm mattress, large cupboard with lots of hanging space and hangars, and plenty of light both in the room and to read with. Aircon does have heating setting as well.
The bathroom was magnificent with shower, jet bath, 2 basins and is a large comfortable room.
There is a kitchenette with coffee machine, cutlery and crockery, stocked fridge.
The living area has a small round dining room table, couches, TV and everything you need.
It was COLD and not once did I feel this cold in our Suite. That to me was a definite plus!
The breakfast were delicious, great selection of items, freshly baked goodies, great tasting hot breakfast meals.
There are umbrellas to use in the common room.
Any problems were resolved immediately resolved. Small maintenance issues were sorted as promised.
And the WiFi worked extremely well and did not cut out. That was a great feature.
I can highly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madame_XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Family owned boutique hotel. Welcomed by the owner and then flabbergasted by all that could be seen and experienced. Very spacious rooms. Perfect eye for any miniscule detail. Fine local arts decorating the in- and exteriors. Zebras in the garden, to be watched from the nearly off-site jacuzzi terrace. Nice pool. Perfect breakfast. Standing ovation for this small resort gem. A must have been for when in between Capetown and Port Elizabeth.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Digi-Dish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We stayed 2 nights here in the Romance Suite which was compact, but lovely. Heated towel rails and bathroom floor were nice as it was quite dank and chilly when we were there. Beautiful grounds, but didn't try out the jacuzzi over looking the paddock with zebra etc. Also didn't try out the swimming pool, far too cold!
Bed was beautifully comfortable but pillows were feather and far too soft for me. I used my neck travel pillow to sleep on, feather duvet too.
Mini fridge bar in room, price list on table. Breakfast was 8-9.30 , cooked bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, and eggs how you want them, continental , juices, tea, coffee etc.
Lovely little town and some beautiful buildings to see and visit. We went out to Marloth Nature Reserve, well worth a visit and close by. R40 pp for permit to enter. Drive down a fair distance to walk to waterfalls. Strong shoes/boots and long trousers recommended. Lots of birds, flora and fauna to see. Lovely place for a picnic, supermarket in town to shop for picnic foods.
Rothman Manor is a beautiful place to stay, in gorgeous surroundings.

Room Tip: Romance Suite has own courtyard area with flora and fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
3.1 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 40 in Swellendam
655 reviews
3.3 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 40 in Swellendam
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
275 reviews
2.2 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
406 reviews
2.8 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 40 in Swellendam
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $164 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing