We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
455
37
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
37
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub africa suite garden route loft suite attention to detail one night cape town large pond his wife would highly recommend a stay here swimming pool german couple beautiful grounds lovely oasis coffee machine enormous bathroom guest house
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Another excellent B & B on the Garden Route. The room I had was a little small and I paid $130, the most I'd paid but it's a beautiful place in a beautiful setting. It's hard to describe the property - ponds, fountain, creek, etc. Franziska and Andreas were perfect hosts, recommending an excellent restaurant across the street and looking after my every need. A highlight was the jacuzzi where you can relax, sip a glass of wine and watch the zebras & sprongbok grazing. Second to that was capuccino on the patio as i basked in the sunshine and enjoyed the delicious breakfast. I had a hard time leaving the next morning and was exteremely grateful for the excellent driving directions. Definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in Swellendam for one night on our way from Franschhoek to Plettenberg Bay. Andreas greeted us and was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He then advised that he had upgraded us to their honeymoon suite which was wonderful. The room was modern, airy, spacious and we had our own patio with table and chairs. In addition, we also had another door outside which opened onto a private paved area with 2 sun loungers, just through an archway in the hedge was the pool. The internet access provided here was by a long way the best and most reliable we found anywhere on our 3 week trip in SA....it's nice that a hotelier had thought of using WiFi extenders in all their rooms, given they are so inexpensive and easy to set up! A full Satellite TV package (including all sports channels) was also provided, although we didn't avail of it.

Rothman Manor is set in a beautiful estate with a large pond containing lilly pads and other plant life. There is also numerous metal animal carvings throughout the property which add to its character. On the far side of the estate is a jacuzzi which is sunken into a deck area, overlooking the small nature reserve next door which contains zebras and springboks...it was very peaceful and a nice way to unwind. Breakfast was freshly made, tasty and served outside in wonderful surroundings.

Swellendam itself doesn't seem to have a lot to do other than a couple of restaurants (although we didn't really look for any activities as our stay was so short). One restaurant, as recommended by Andreas, is La Sosta. We had the most wonderful meal, and it is by no means your average Italian restaurant....there wasn't a pizza to be seen! It was easily the best Italian meal we have had outside Italy and comfortably in our top 3 meals on our holiday - given that my wife and I are foodies and ate at what have been voted some of the worlds' best restaurants on this trip, it is praise indeed.

I would happily stay at Rothman Manor again, in fact I hope to, and Andreas is a wonderful host and an exceptionally nice man.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Our room was on the small side, but had all we needed and was clean with all facilities. Lovely breakfast, and a warm and helpful reception to our stay. Free washed car much appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Having approached Swellendam from the west past the sewage works and an industrial estate we were a little apprehensive. We had no need to be and that was clear from the moment Franziska greeted us with a warm smile and tour of this magnificent small estate. The rooms were cool (in every sense), the decor tastefully African, the swimming pool and gardens overlooking the eco-reserve the perfect spaces to cope with a broiling South African afternoon. Franziska and Andreas could not do enough for us, their restaurant recommendation (Koornlands) faultless and they were even effective at reassuring us about a forest fire which merely provided additional drama. 2 nights were certainly not enough fully to appreciate this slightly unfashionable but underestimated gateway to the "Garden Route".

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73KJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Excellent stop off if you want to break the drive between Knysna and Cape Town. Initially chosen due to location this place is really outstanding. Beautiful old house refurbished into modern luxurious suites. Wonderful attention to detail, right down to rolled towels and flowers floating in water bowls around the pool. Andreas and Franziska could not do enough to make our stay better and booked a table at the Old Mill restarant across the street. My 5 year old loved the buck and zebra and there were so many places for him to explore in the garden (keep an eye tho as there is some water). He also was very taken with the huge bath to swim in. Breakfast served on the terrace was delicious with lots of choice. Don't forget to visit Wildebraam Liquers and Berry Farm for a tasting and the lovely Rain shop (practically next door) for bath products.

Room Tip: We were in the beautiful Africa suite overlooking the pool. Stunning bathroom, excellent decor and comfort. My 5 year old loved sleeping in the window alcove but it would not be big enough for anyone much bigger.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thespacelily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews