We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing retreat”
Review of Rothman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothman Manor
Ranked #2 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

What an absolutely amazing find. From start to finish we spent a wonderful couple of nights at Rothman Manor. Our loft suite was amazing, gorgeous bedroom with doors to sit out balcony, a fully equipped kitchen, beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi bath and huge shower and a very large lounge with great furniture. The garden & grounds were beautiful and we were so well looked after from the minute we arrived until the minute we left, nothing was too much trouble. They even cleaned our car every morning - Thank you to you all at this wonderful find, see you again soon

Room Tip: They all have special qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Another excellent B & B on the Garden Route. The room I had was a little small and I paid $130, the most I'd paid but it's a beautiful place in a beautiful setting. It's hard to describe the property - ponds, fountain, creek, etc. Franziska and Andreas were perfect hosts, recommending an excellent restaurant across the street and looking after my every need. A highlight was the jacuzzi where you can relax, sip a glass of wine and watch the zebras & sprongbok grazing. Second to that was capuccino on the patio as i basked in the sunshine and enjoyed the delicious breakfast. I had a hard time leaving the next morning and was exteremely grateful for the excellent driving directions. Definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in Swellendam for one night on our way from Franschhoek to Plettenberg Bay. Andreas greeted us and was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He then advised that he had upgraded us to their honeymoon suite which was wonderful. The room was modern, airy, spacious and we had our own patio with table and chairs. In addition, we also had another door outside which opened onto a private paved area with 2 sun loungers, just through an archway in the hedge was the pool. The internet access provided here was by a long way the best and most reliable we found anywhere on our 3 week trip in SA....it's nice that a hotelier had thought of using WiFi extenders in all their rooms, given they are so inexpensive and easy to set up! A full Satellite TV package (including all sports channels) was also provided, although we didn't avail of it.

Rothman Manor is set in a beautiful estate with a large pond containing lilly pads and other plant life. There is also numerous metal animal carvings throughout the property which add to its character. On the far side of the estate is a jacuzzi which is sunken into a deck area, overlooking the small nature reserve next door which contains zebras and springboks...it was very peaceful and a nice way to unwind. Breakfast was freshly made, tasty and served outside in wonderful surroundings.

Swellendam itself doesn't seem to have a lot to do other than a couple of restaurants (although we didn't really look for any activities as our stay was so short). One restaurant, as recommended by Andreas, is La Sosta. We had the most wonderful meal, and it is by no means your average Italian restaurant....there wasn't a pizza to be seen! It was easily the best Italian meal we have had outside Italy and comfortably in our top 3 meals on our holiday - given that my wife and I are foodies and ate at what have been voted some of the worlds' best restaurants on this trip, it is praise indeed.

I would happily stay at Rothman Manor again, in fact I hope to, and Andreas is a wonderful host and an exceptionally nice man.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Our room was on the small side, but had all we needed and was clean with all facilities. Lovely breakfast, and a warm and helpful reception to our stay. Free washed car much appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Having approached Swellendam from the west past the sewage works and an industrial estate we were a little apprehensive. We had no need to be and that was clear from the moment Franziska greeted us with a warm smile and tour of this magnificent small estate. The rooms were cool (in every sense), the decor tastefully African, the swimming pool and gardens overlooking the eco-reserve the perfect spaces to cope with a broiling South African afternoon. Franziska and Andreas could not do enough for us, their restaurant recommendation (Koornlands) faultless and they were even effective at reassuring us about a forest fire which merely provided additional drama. 2 nights were certainly not enough fully to appreciate this slightly unfashionable but underestimated gateway to the "Garden Route".

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73KJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
3.1 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 40 in Swellendam
655 reviews
3.3 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 40 in Swellendam
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
275 reviews
2.2 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
406 reviews
2.8 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 40 in Swellendam
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothman Manor

Address: 286 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $166 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rothman Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This trendy five star boutique guest retreat is your destination for accommodation in Swellendam. On the 3,5 ha estate you will find your privacy in hidden places and relax in the park like garden. Luxury and stylish design, with every comfort, decorated with African elements show a perfect match and into a laid back and retreat atmosphere. Rothman Manor offer three thatched houses, on a 3.5 hectares estate, in the famous Cape Dutch architecture going back to 1834. Unwind by the pool, read in the seclusion of your private outdoor space or just watch the onside game from the Jacuzzi and the abundance of bird life around the huge pond littered with lotus flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing