We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly welcome and excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Braeside Guest House
Ranked #18 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Guesthouse managed by Fiona is a very nice House with a warm welcome and a good service. The rooms are clean and fit to the price of the accomodation. The most outstanding here is the Breakfast in the morning served on the balkony. These is really one of a kind and never had this before in a Guesthouse like this.

For Dinner wie got a good recommendation for "Sabines Drostdy Restaurant". You can reach within 10 min walk (by feet) and they have really nice Food with an excellent choice of SA Wines (our favorite: De Toitskloof Cellar (Pinotage, Merlot, Ruby Cabernet)).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelMasuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Braeside Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent one night in Swellendam during our South Africa trip. The guest house was very easy to find just a few minutes from then N2. It is also a short walk from the main street. Be aware though that the main street is very long so you will need to drive to restaurants at the far end of the street.
As per other reviews Fiona was an excellent host, very welcoming and full of useful information. She booked us a table at the excellent Koorlands Restaurant and also provided one of the best breakfasts on our trip.
After a few busy days it was nice to rest by the pool for a few hours and enjoy the complimentary beer. There are also a number of guide books available in the lounge which came in very useful when planning the next few days of our trip
We had an excellent nights sleep, very comfortable bed.
We left Swellendam fully relaxed and if we had more time would have loved to have spent another night there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was our first experience of a South African Guest House so weren't sure what to expect. Fiona was very friendly, easy to talk to, very welcoming, helpful and thoughtful. That was the ideal start! The welcome drinks - tea AND beer - were most welcome on a hot afternoon, as were the fresh fruit and shortbread for hungry travellers to nibble. There were lots of these thoughtful touches - the fresh milk and cold water in the fridge, plus every basic toiletry you might have forgotten or need in the bathroom - which helped us to relax and enjoy the ambience quickly. The view over the garden was lovely and it was great to unwind sitting out and watching birds and butterflies. Tips on walks, restaurants and routes were really helpful and it wasn't Fiona's fault that the day's menu at the local restaurant was different in style and content from the sample menu provided. We were adaptable and found a way of having kudu/ostrich anyway! We relished the variety of the al fresco breakfast on a beautifully set table: what a treat. Fiona, we wish you really well for the future - and, yes, we would go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Had a wonderful 3 nights here. We could not have chosen better. Fiona is a fantastic hostess, very welcoming and makes you feel like one of the family from the start. Having been upgraded we were treated to welcome drinks and had a lovely situation over looking the garden. The guesthouse is in great location and very peaceful. We got loads of advice about where to eat and reservations made for us. The breakfasts are fit for a king and probably one the nicest I've had anywhere. Thank you Fiona for making our stay special. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAllin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Great place to stay. Good location. Wonderful breakfast on veranda. Complimentary drinks were welcome

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.3 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
520 reviews
0.6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
625 reviews
3.2 km away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 39 in Swellendam
210 reviews
2.4 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guest House

Address: 13 Van Oudtshoorn Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $104 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership this Beautiful Cape Edwardian house set in a large garden with views over the Langeberg Mountains and the Marloth Nature Reserve was built in 1901, Braeside has a lot of charm and character and is a haven of tranquillity with 5 very nice individually styled en-suite bedrooms. We are situated in a very peaceful and safe area of the picturesque town of Swellendam, in the Western Cape province of South Africa. We are a 4-Star graded property (Tourism Grading Council). We offer gracious, personal service in a beautiful setting. Our breakfast consists of a continental buffet composed of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, various local cheeses, cold meats, fruit juices. We also pride ourselves in serving several homemade products such as: freshly baked organic breads, orgnanic cake, organic sweet and savory muffins, jams and marmalade. The cooked part of our breakfast will be made on request. It will consist of our fresh free range eggs either fried, scrambled, poached, or boiled; we can also provide very nice omelettes with several seasonings, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and grilled tomatoes Braeside is the ideal place to spend a couple of days exploring the Overberg region from visits to the coast to the beautiful winelands, all within easy reach. Or you can just spend a day relaxing by the pool, in the lovely gardens or beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Braeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing