We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of De Companjie

De Companjie
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 18
Cuisines: Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the picturesque town of Swellendam, a national heritage building dating back to 1834 is the venue of our ownermanaged restaurant producing unique local cuisine. Locally produced quality ingredients are used along our grass fed beef and venison from the Kalahari region that is our speciality. Our menu is small and we like to change some dishes regularly to accommodate seasonal produce and keep our selection creative. Enjoy homemade cocktails, local boutique wines and finely prepared meals in our newly renovated restaurant, experiencing the best of country life. Enjoy a fine glass of bubbly or cocktail with a cheese platter in our Secret Courtyard.
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely ambience, lovely music, super service and perfect food.

We enjoyed the meal so much, that we will drive the 240 km from Cape Town and stay over night just to sample it again. We both had the butternut soup starter followed by a sirloin and and a blackbeast fillet - the best fillet I have ever tasted! Shared the creme brûlée cheese cake. All food perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Nice wine list too

The waiter was attentive and generally good fun. Really well worth a visit if you enjoy fine dining.

Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decompanjieh, Owner at De Companjie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this generous review! Being a small business you and the rest of our lovely customers make a huge difference in lots of lives. Supporting local is hugely respected and appreciated!
We look forward having you back again. Next time contact us directly for a discount voucher if you stay and dine with us!
Warmest regards
Marilouise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2018

We were booked at this restaurant by our Guest house. We expected a nice tasteful plate of food and therefore, to be on the safe side ordered the Fillet steak, which ended up tough and raw on a bed of mash, that didn't even look good. The bobotie tasted better, but the rice was like a ball of rubber, totally tasteless and put me off completely. They only played african music totally unappealing to the patrons having supper. There is clearly a lack of management and the staff do as they please.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Estievm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decompanjieh, Manager at De Companjie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Estie, thank you for bringing this under our attention.
The majority of our guests really enjoy our African music and complement us on the great ambience.
I investigated the matter and understand that you ordered your fillet medium rare. I believe the chef came to ask if you are enjoying your meal by which you replied yes. We want to make our guests happy and if we knew about this on the evening would have offered to put it on the grill a bit longer for you. We welcome constructive criticism and strive to provide quality service and produce.
Our staff follow strict orders by management to ensure continuity throughout.
Our sincere apologies that your experience was disappointing. We can only try harder and improve on what might be lacking.
Warmest regards
Decompanjie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent ambience
Sit close to fire place with good red wine , I would like a more extended win list
Starters , soup was average , the snook dish was divine
Main , bobotie was special , the rest of the party had sirloin and was well prepared in a nice sauce , wife had the vegetarian dish and was also excellent

Was disappointed in this small Afrikaans town , I could not be served in Afrikaans , especially knowing the history of the town

Thank Docgerhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We popped into this sweet place and were cautioned that they aren't really for kids (we had our 2) but the menu looked too tasty to pass up. And we're glad we didn't. We had the Kudu and Beef Sirloin and our kids loved them as well. But you MUST HAVE the Apple Crumble!! It is probably the best I have ever had!! OMG, so dang good!! Fair prices and polite service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decompanjieh, Owner at De Companjie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you very much for visiting us!! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. We love kids with a brave palate. We do not have a dedicated kiddies menu since we find they usually love the food on our menu as much as the adults do.
Warmest regards
Decompanjie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Best food in town. Steak was perfect. Thank you very much for a lovely evening. The service was simply outstanding. The Maître d is warm hearty and welcoming.

Thank 439marisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decompanjieh, Manager at De Companjie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you very much for the lovely review ! We were delighted to have you as our guests.
Best regards
Decompanjie team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Companjie also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to De Companjie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing