We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and special”

Jan Harmsgat Country House Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 42 Restaurants in Swellendam
Description: The guest house is a 2 hour drive from Cape Town, on a working farm in the scenic Klein Karoo winelands region of South Africa. The towns of Robertson, Montagu, and McGregor are within close proximity and Cape Agulhas (the southern tip of Africa) is an easy hours drive away. The guest house, bed and breakfast accommodation (which is non smoking) is in understated elegance and comfort in the farms original slave quarters, and consists of four large en-suite rooms with an adjoining lounge. Two loft rooms and the guest lounge boast expansive mountain views. Guests may relax by the pool with a book from our extensive library or explore the farm and surrounding wine routes, as well as museums and heritage sites in nearby Swellendam and surrounding areas. Conveniently situated a leisurely half-hour drive through beautiful farm-lands, from Swellendam, Jan Harmsgat Country House has seen a renaissance that captures its rich past, in a way that fits in with the discerning travellers needs.
Restaurant details
Description: The guest house is a 2 hour drive from Cape Town, on a working farm in the scenic Klein Karoo winelands region of South Africa. The towns of Robertson, Montagu, and McGregor are within close proximity and Cape Agulhas (the southern tip of Africa) is an easy hours drive away. The guest house, bed and breakfast accommodation (which is non smoking) is in understated elegance and comfort in the farms original slave quarters, and consists of four large en-suite rooms with an adjoining lounge. Two loft rooms and the guest lounge boast expansive mountain views. Guests may relax by the pool with a book from our extensive library or explore the farm and surrounding wine routes, as well as museums and heritage sites in nearby Swellendam and surrounding areas. Conveniently situated a leisurely half-hour drive through beautiful farm-lands, from Swellendam, Jan Harmsgat Country House has seen a renaissance that captures its rich past, in a way that fits in with the discerning travellers needs.
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We loved our meal at Jan Harmsgat. We were set up at the fire, started with lovely wine tasting and then ordered most of the starters. Was a great way to relax and feel spoiled.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG-GM, Front Office Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for the lovely feedback!

A meal in our restaurant is definitely recommended to experience on your way to or from Cape Town. Even better when staying over in one o our cozy rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guests soon!

Kind regards

Jan Harmsgat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018

A beautiful ambience in an historic building, warm welcomes make you feel special, good food with abundant choice and really good wines topped off by great service. Interesting and really good starters and meat dishes, unfortunately menu deserts not all available and the Kingklip was poorly cooked and returned - however i was not charged for that dish.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pjhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG-GM, Front Office Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write the wonderful review!

Our restaurant is definitely something to experience between Cape Town and the Garden Route. We do apologize for the Kingklip not cooked thoroughly and some desserts not available on the evening of your visit. We value your feedback on this as it helps us better our standards going forward.

We hope to have you back as our guests soon as we would like to have an even better experience with every dish cooked and served to perfection.

Have a wonderful day further.

Kind regards

Jan Harmsgat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

An interesting stop. Shop for pomegranate juice, olives and wines. There is a restaurant on the premises and they have an interesting pizza menu.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Jaqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG-GM, Front Office Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Jaqui

Thank you for the great review.

We produce a 100% pomegranate juice and our own boutique wines which we distribute (not available in many shops as yet). Our restaurant has a very relaxed feel and we serve a variety of great food for all tastes.

We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Kind regards

Jan Harmsgat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Love the ambiance and the staff efforts are obvious BUT... in selecting a location for a special dinner, in looking at the website they brag about their "Famous Kudu Steak"... not being on the menu for that evening is quite different from it is no longer ON the menu! They also brag about their "Home made Ice creams" and the menu has listed salted caramel and an almond creation as part of a trio... well it has been vanilla, chocolate and grenadella for the past 6 months! That is more than enough time to bring the website up to date and certainly to update their menu. Today it is not uncommon to look at those things online prior to making a choice of where to go... especially if the dinner is R600+. Colleen is a very special server and we will be back but they need to add some effort to get to 5 star!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHG-GM, Front Office Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused, we are attending to our website which will be updated as soon as possible.

We do hope to have you as our guests again soon!

Kind regards

Jan Harmsgat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We stayed here for one night on our way from Cape Town along the Garden Route. Our room was amazing, the wine tasting interesting and informative (we recommend the Chenin Blanc and Shiraz) and the food was excellent. We ate in some lovely restaurants in Cape Town on this and a previous visit, but nothing was as good as dinner with Jan Harmsgat. Breakfast the next morning was equally superior with the same excellent attention to detail in both presentation and service. Altogether a wonderful experience which is highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnneP9754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jan Harmsgat Country House Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Jan Harmsgat Country House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing