We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Powell House Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 15
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We make you feel at home. A quaint restaurant serving delicious food at great value.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We really enjoyed our meal but more importantly, the service was excellent - matched only by the excellent selection of food and wine. Ambience was perfect too.

Thank dubbleyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Powell House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your excellent review DubbleYou and for taking time to write it. We appreciated your feedback.
Regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018

We enjoyed a lovely dinner at Powell house. Friendly staff served succulent chops and a well-priced wine to go with it. I am so glad we made a reservation, since they had to turn away a few guests later in the evening. Some other interesting food on the menu was warthog potjie. Next time around I will order that.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Esme V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Powell House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you Esme V for your reviewand for taking the time to write it.
Kind regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Classic flavors done well. Rated the Durban curry but ask for Extra chillies to get heat. Best you order the malva pudding as well. If Good pricing of wine helps....

Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Every time. A delicious meal served with old time elegance and style. Very good cuppuchino. Peaceful and refreshing.

Thank hanlikemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at Powell House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you for the top review Hanli. We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review.We hope you will return soon.
Regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

We were staying in a nearby B&B so we walked over to Powell House for dinner. The ambiance is warm and welcoming and the menu diverse and interesting.
The prawns were served in the shells, with head on, which our Australian guest didn’t much fancy, but she did say that they were delicious. (Once she got through peeling them) The warthog potjie was also ordered and thoroughly enjoyed. My vegetarian bobotie was bland and lacked flavor. Overall, a nice evening.

Thank JHerlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Powell House Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Powell House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing