We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil retreat in Somerset West”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of FOREST REST

Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool Area
Pool Area Entrance to the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Pool Area
Pool Area
Entrance to the property
Apartment 1 - Bedroom
Apartment 1 - Bedroom
Apartment 1 - Bathroom
Apartment 1 - Kitchen
Apartment 1 - Dining/Kitchen
Apartment 1 - Dining/Kitchen & Bedroom
Apartment 1 - Lounge
Apartment 1 - Lounge/Patio
Apartment 1 - Lounge
Apartment 1 - Patio
Apartment 1 - Patio
Apartment 1 - Way to the pool
Apartment 2 - Bedroom Area
Apartment 2 - Bathroom
Apartment 2 - Lounge
Apartment 2 - Lounge
Apartment 2 - Lounge/Kitchen
Apartment 2 - Kitchen
Apartment 2 - Patio
Breakfast on request at an additional cost - served in the Apartments
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hennielen...
Ohrigstad, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil retreat in Somerset West”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We travel a lot all over the world and Forest Rest is one of the best self-catering places we have ever stayed at. It is superbly appointed with everything one might need (and some more). It is stylish and sophisticated and in a very quiet area.

The location is very central and it is easy to access the main roads. With Stellenbosch and its winelands, numerous excellent golf courses as well as the ocean and great beaches in very close proximity, the most difficult thing was to choose what to do (or not to do) each day. It is a great place to spend a week or two (or more).

The little courtyard with sun loungers as well as table and chairs, looks into a forest and we spent hours outside watching the antics of some squirrels. Excellent pool and great garden. Our stay was further enhanced by regular visits from the two dogs, Panda and Tjoklit.

We were welcomed by Louise (the owner) with a huge smile and within minutes felt we had known her for years. The service is excellent and very friendly. We were sad to leave this beautiful and tranquil place and can truly recommend Forest Rest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity
Liked least: Nothing we did not like or enjoy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECloete01
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect rest in busy city”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a picture-perfect tranquil place snugly hid away from the hustle and bustle of the Western Cape city life! For the traveller who needs quiet and peace, Forest Rest ensures an impeccable stylish stay at the edge of the unspoiled Helderberg forest. The hospitality and friendliness of the owners, without any intrusiveness, makes this feel like home. This will be my lodging of choice whenever I visit the Somerset West area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very difficult to say - everything was just great.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamT0n
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wow...”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

...what a beautiful apartment this was. Louise was so lovely and made us feel very welcome from the start. The apartment exceeded our expectations and I can't wait to recommend this place to my family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesAJ...
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was really one of the best self-catering apartments we have ever stayed in, from the welcoming bottle of wine and milk in the fridge, the bowl of fresh fruit and the fresh flowers, to the luxurious accommodation in general. We really felt very welcome and at home all the time we were there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippaod
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had the pleasure of staying in both apartments which were both beautifully furnished and our host Louise has provided every little thing in the apartment that one could ever need.
Apartment one is better travelling with children but both apartments are lovely.
Very peaceful and relaxing and our host Louise very generous and kind. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way it was so well equipped
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing