We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio ideal for sundowners with views of the mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Patio ideal for sundowners with views of the mountains
Proudly South African luxury Charlotte Rhys toiletries
View of nature reserve from our road
View of Helderberg mountain from outside our gate
View of nature reserve from our road
View of nature reserve from our road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
chrisnab2...
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“A home away from Home”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed at Alfie's cottage for 3 months while i waited for my move to come down to Cape Town. Typically it wasn't a vacation, but it sure felt like one. Waking up every morning at the foot of the nature reserve, surrounded by the most beautiful mountains, was a blessing.

Jen, the owner, went out of her way to make my stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible. The cottage was neat, fully equip and had a warm homey feel to it. (the bed might even be better than my own one).

On the lonely nights, Abby (the family's dog) would keep me company.

I was actually sad when the 3 months had past and i had to be on my way. I arrived there as a guest, but left feeling like family.

Jen, Charlie, Chloe,Tom and Melody, thank you for making my first 3 months in CT warm and welcoming. I couldn't ask for better, and will recommend you to anyone!
you guys are awesome!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The homeyness and the beautiful surroundings
Liked least: that i had to leave
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RQuicke
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Host made our trip magic”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Looked after brilliantly in safe and beautiful surroundings. Very good advice on trips from the owner who lives next door. Maid service every day kept us and the cottage spotless. Anything we needed provided instantly. So much to see and do within minutes of this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
1 review
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I can only echo what the reviews have already said. I must add how much we appreciated the free use of the swimming pool at Erinvale spa. We never encountered anyone else there-our own private pool in fact and only a few minutes from the cottage. Thank you Jen, Charlie, Melody and Abbey and we will be back next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thank you Jennifer and John - we loved having you to stay. We are so glad you made use of the Erinvale Spa pool too which is a real value add for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5455Gull
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful place!”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We spent 3 nights at Alfie's cottage and had a lovely time there. The owners Jen and Charles and the housekeeper Melody were all so helpful and so welcoming. There are lots of thoughtful extras which make it a really lovely place to spend a few days. We will definitely go there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Thanks Tina - we loved having you and Mike to stay and look forward to having you visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterton, South Africa
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing