We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best in town”
62 Granite Close Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
62 Granite Close Exterior
Deluxe Studio Bedroom Deluxe Studio X/L Double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
186 reviews
62 Granite Close Exterior
Deluxe Studio Bedroom
Deluxe Studio X/L Double bed
Deluxe Studio Kitchenette
Deluxe Studio her Bathroom
Deluxe Studio his Bathroom
Deluxe Studio Patio with sea views
Superior Apartment open plan Lounge
Superior Apartment Kitchen
Superior Apartment Bedroom
Superior Apartment Bathroom
Superior Apartment 2nd Bedroom
Superior Apartment 2nd Bathroom
Superior Patio view
Studio Apartment open plan room
Studio Apartment Bed
Studio Apartment Kitchen
Studio Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment Lounge
Luxury Apartment kitchen & open plan lounge
Luxury Apartment Kitchen
Luxury Apartment Bedroom
Luxury Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment complete Bedroom
Luxury Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment patio
Luxury Apartment lounge & patio area
2016 HotelsCombined Recognition of Excellence Award
View March 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 186 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MyburghB
Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed 19 December 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This is easily the best establishment we've ever stayed at. The owner is the friendliest host and nothing is spared to ensure guests have a 5 star experience when staying at Vrede. The spacious flat is fitted with anything you can think of to make your stay as luxurious and comfortable as possible. You can also enjoy walks on the tranquil estate with the most beautiful views. I will recommend Vrede as the most serene and luxurious self-catering experience, still close to amenities and shops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanO68
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
356 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Excellent! 5-star luxury accommodation in a beautiful estate. And at a very reasonable price!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

My wife and I spent a 2-week holiday in Somerset West, basing ourselves at the Vrede Self Catering on the Boskloof Eco-Estate. We had an amazing stay and agree that it is one of the nicest places we’ve ever stayed – absolutely no complaints! We didn’t want to leave. The setting is excellent, about a 5-min drive out of the town, situated in a tranquil, expansive, bush (fynbos) covered estate, nestled into some forested hills and complete with its own small lake. The views over False Bay, especially at sunset, are truly spectacular. On clear days you can see right across the bay to the Cape of Good Hope. The estate offers kilometers of well-maintained trails for walking and running, or you can go for a swim or canoe in the lake. The estate is very safe and secure with 24-hour manned gate and a big fence around the entire estate.

We stayed in the Deluxe Unit, a very roomy 1-bedroom apartment, and as the name implies, it is deluxe with high quality workmanship, furnishings and fittings. They spared no expense on ensuring a quality apartment. The apartment is airy and bright with lots of windows, a full kitchen, dining, and lounge area, all open plan, plus a laundry room with washer and dryer. There are big TVs with DSTV in both the lounge and bedroom. The outdoor veranda is an excellent spot to watch the sunset over the south Atlantic. The free Wifi connection was a huge bonus and was one of the reasons we chose this place.

The hostess/owner, Maggie, was wonderful and she looked after us very well. She was very helpful with our many enquiries and was very attentive to service, even ensuring there was food in our fridge for our late night arrival. We couldn’t have had a better stay. I can’t recommend this establishment highly enough – as I mentioned before, one of the best places we’ve ever stayed. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to all other travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking the trails, watching the sunset, Wifi connection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman99
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"The best home away from home"”
Reviewed 14 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Sometimes people go the extra mile, Maggie the owner goes much further than that. She is genuinely concerned about your well being, check if you have arrived safely and nothing is too much! Wish there were more establishments and people like her. The accommodation is excellent and high quality and excellently priced (value for money)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The room and the.......... views
Liked least: Everything ok
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpho M
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
“Vrede Self Catering is classy with an awesome view of Somerset West”
Reviewed 14 November 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Because we arrived late, the host ensured that we reached our destination safely by calling us and giving us directions to her place and theapartment allocated to us. The next morning we received a very warm welcome by the host - friendly and a people's person, suitable for this kind of business.

Boskloof Estate is a real luxury area with exclusive properties. The environment is secured with boom gate and security guards 24/7, we felt so secured and safe from the estate entrance.
The property location is superb, the property itself - Vrede Self Catering is very classy with a breath taking view of Somerset West from a high point. Beautiful view of the town at dawn and sunset, viewed from the apartment window.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The property and its location with a beautiful view of Somerset West from a higher point
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil b
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquill five star accomodation”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Fantastic place to stay on business or pleasure short drive from the airpport situated within the Cape Vineyards and close to many lovely beaches, the accomodation and service are five star.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility of the place so relaxing
Liked least: I had to leave
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing