We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Albourne Boutique Guest House(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
USD 90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Somerset West(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
USD 52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vredenburg Manor House(Somerset West)
USD 98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 159
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset Villa Guesthouse(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Guest House(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
USD 76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
African Dreams Guesthouse(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
USD 76
USD 60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

At Winkfield House(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
422
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjo annefruit platterguest housechardonnay suitecape townattention to detailsnoekat homesouth african hospitalitybreakfast tablehost and hostessstar accommodationwelcoming hostsa fantastic place to stayour honeymoonevery respectevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Had a great stay at Blaauwheim. The room/suite was spacious and well appointed, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was superb - the fruit platter was a work of art!! Johan and Jo-Anne are very attentive and full of information about the area. Could not fault the accommodation and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndShir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear AndShir

It was so good having you share our "secret season" with us at Blaauwheim. We really enjoyed your company! Thank you for this lovely review. See you soon.

Regards

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

I was staying at Blaauwheim over the weekend during a 2-week business trip. It could not be better, except that I had to leave after two nights. Hospitality is unparalleled and the room (I had the Chardonnay Suite) surpasses most 5-star luxury hotels by far. Jo-Anne and Johan are the kindest hosts you'll ever meet and their breakfast is so exceptional that I'd travel there just for the breakfast alone. Did I mention the garden? It's an oasis you'll rarely find anywhere else.

The region has to offer a lot as well - you'll find the best wineries just around the corner and Somerset West is lovely calm. If you consider a stay in the region, I'd anytime recommend a stay at Blaauwheim.

Room Tip: Chardonnay Suite at the first floor is exceptional and offers a King-Size bed with private balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markuseichinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Markus

We are also sorry that you had to leave after the weekend! Thanks you for your kind words. The breakfast will be waiting when you come back with the family and the garden will even be more beautiful and back to its former glory because of the availability of water.

Travel safely

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

A superb house and garden owned by a delightful Afrikaans couple and helped by a schauzer dog. The facilities were first class and the breakfast to die for. We didn't have a car and used taxies to see Somerset West and the Strand but with one, the location is ideal for touring the Western Cape. If you would like to sample real South African hospitality, not unregistered Europeans purporting to be South African, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The Shiraz Suite
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RayHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Ray

Thank you for posting and sharing this review. Blaauwheim is proudly South African and so are we. We try our level best to showcase the "real South African hospitality" you mentioned and are delighted that you experienced it that way.

Regards

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Discovered this oasis for the traveller in the Cape recently and were blown over by the calming effect of the property and setting, friendly and professional service and most certainly what must be the gold standard of breakfasts anywhere in the world.
The knowledgable owners Johan and charming wife Jo-Anne are an engaging couple that leaves no stone unturned in their effort to make your stay as pleasant and profitable as possible
Even the little Schnauzer pet adds to the friendly and homely atmosphere of the establishment
We will certainly make this a regular stay-over for us on our visits to South Africa.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank David-Hermus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear David-Hermus

Thanks you very much for this review in which you recognise how excellence has become a habit at Blaauwheim. Guests like you make us want to continue for many a year to come. Thanks you for being so appreciative of everything we do here. Do come back to South Africa, the Cape Winelands, Somerset West and Blaauwheim.

Regards

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Luxury accommodation with outstanding service. Extremely friendly and helpful owners. Hospitality is best and world class. One needs to mention the sumptuous breakfasts Johan produces every morning, served on the veranda overlooking the lush garden with birds singing and Rafiki chasing the Hadidas.
Jo-Anne and Johan have become dear friends and hopefully we will be able to repeat this visit yearly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Sampletjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Sampletjie

It was so fulfilling to have hosted you because you made it happen! Thanks for the lovely conversations, the humour and the fun. This splendid review is much appreciated! Come back soon.

Safe travels

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews