We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome weekend in lovely house”
other traveller has booked this property
Barry House on Riverton horse stud & wine farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barry House on Riverton horse stud & wine farm
Young horses at play 'To live long, it is necessary to live slowly.' Cicero
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Barry House on Riverton horse stud & wine farm
Young horses at play
'To live long, it is necessary to live slowly.' Cicero
The Duncan & Hubertha Barry en-suite bedroom with brass queen sized bed. Sleeps 2)
Roman bath of the Duncan & Hubertha room
Twin bedroom adjoining the Duncan & Hubertha en-suite (Sleeps 2)
The Joseph Barry en-suite bedroom with King sized bed (Sleeps 2)
The Victorian bathroom of the Joseph Barry room
Family/TV Lounge
Table Tennis, card table and beverage fridge in Family/TV Lounge
George & Philippa room with King bed & a single. Has private patio overlooking the rose garden
Hamilton Barry Room (sleeps 3)
Hannah's room with queen sized bed (sleeps 2)
Dining Room
Sitting Room
Fully equipped Kitchen with gas, electric & microwave ovens and a dishwasher
Barry House surrounded by trees
Barry House garden
Mares give birth from August to mid November each year. Guests are welcome to watch.
Canoeing on the Breede river that runs through the farm
Riverton thoroughbred stud & wine farm driveway
Mare frolicking in the water
Foal
Aerial view of Riverton showing one of the farm dams on the right
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Robertson, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IP_CapeTo...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend in lovely house”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We had the privilege to stay in Barry House for a weekend. Each of our group had a lovely bedroom and could enjoy the most lovely decor and antique furniture while being spoiled with all the modern facilities. The owners were friendly and welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. Housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient. We were even spoiled with home-baked bread and a lovely breakfast on our last morning. We'll definitely visit Barry House again in future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review! We love that you and your group appreciate the historic charm of Barry House on Riverton as much as we do. Good to hear that our staff were friendly and efficient and came up trumps with your home-baked bread request!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie047
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Barry House is a delightful old family home on a beautiful horse farm. The house is wonderfully presented with ample space for large groups. The setting is outstanding, offering beauty and tranquility. We were lucky enough to witness a goal being born, which was fantastic. Local wine tasting and restaurants are close by and offer good value for money. I can highly recommend massages, which can be done at the house by prior arrangement. Overall a great stay. We will definitely be back as Duncan and Natasha complete the experience with their friendliness and hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hosts and accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Very glad that you had the opportunity to experience that special moment of a foal being born and then taking its first wobbly steps! So awe inspiring! Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Barry House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna07834...
1 review
“Gem in the heart of the Breede Valley”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Returning guests for the past four years. The only place we will ever stay. Exceptional stay, especially for a big group like ours.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you! Always such a pleasure to have you and your wonderful friends on the farm! Very honoured that the little bundle of joy also joined you for his first stay at Barry House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williirel...
Langebaan, South Africa
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were 8 ladies staying 3 nights. What an awesome place. Lost each other often in this big house. More than enough space to sleep, place to bath or shower, place to play games and make a fire or sit outside in the garden with horses across in the field. Natasha and Duncan were the best hosts ever. Slight hiccup with water supply one afternoon (not serious) but with 8 woman titivating anything is possible. Duncan was there in no time and sorted things out. We have already said, any golf days in Robertson and we'll be back. 10 minutes from the golf course. 10 minutes from Bon Courage and Van Loveren amongst other wine farms. A must if looking for somewhere to stay. Thank you Duncan and Natasha. Langebaan golfing girls.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you Langebaan Golfing Girls! It was a such a pleasure meeting you all and experiencing the unbeatable dynamic between you! May your long and short games go from strength to strength and all bunkers be avoided when next we meet again. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Cheers Duncan & Natasha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlyingGon...
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“What an amazing find!”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This place is one of a kind, it is the old family home and that is exactly the feel you get when staying there...it's not just another holiday rental but it has charm and a fantastic atmosphere.
There is plenty of space for larger groups, we were only six people but you could easily sleep 12 in the house.
There is a large fully equipped kitchen and the entertainment room (with fireplace) is also a great place for after dinner drinks.
It was awesome to see the horses playing in the morning, and all the other 'wild life' (birds, squirrels, visiting dogs and cats)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thank you! It warms our hearts that you have described Barry House so perfectly! It is a well loved rambling home from a bygone era when families were huge and visitors didn't just pop in, they stayed for days. So glad you all enjoyed your stay and sensed the welcoming atmosphere of the home! Also pleased that you didn't mind our dogs treating you as part of the family. They consider it their duty to look after our guests as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing