We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where you can feel to be in a real nice guesthouse in Africa”
Review of Karoo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karoo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We where so happy to stay in this guesthouse ans we will come again as soon as possible.
The welcoming by hosts is lovely and perfect, there is a big and very nice garden around the guesthouse and as the guesthouse is a little bit far from the small main road the place is really very much peaceful.
The rooms are very very large and very very clean. The beds are extra large, very comfortable with a perfect mattress and very clean as well.
The pool is clean and the pool longer and sits are very clean as well.
The breakfast is very good as well and you can enjoy it under the pergola closed to the swimming pool with many birds visiting the garden around you.
The housekeepers are discret and very serious as well.
In conclusion a place where it is so nice to stay and relax. You have also many restaurant at walking distance;
Congratulation to all the team !

Room Tip: All rooms are almost the same and all very clean and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

Large, clean rooms and charming hosts. Excellent breakfast, if a bit 'fiddly' (not a serious criticism!) Good off-road parking and a fair price. We've stayed a few times without complaint. Mind, the pool could be a tad cleaner.

Room Tip: All similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joeheath1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Firstly , Elsabe and George were perfect hosts . Their guest lodge is set in beautiful gardens and the rooms were spacious and comfortable ( especially the beds and bedding ) . Breakfasts were delicious as was George's cooking ( the lamb cutlets were some of the best I have ever had ! ) . We would love to return one day .

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

A drive through the beautiful and very dry Karroo brought us to our beautiful overnight destination. A friendly, helpful welcome and a walk through beautiful gardens, with a very tempting swimming pool, took me to our very comfortable room with lots and lots of space! A very good night's sleep was had, followed by a hearty, well prepared, cooked and presented breakfast, under ornamental vines. What a lovely start to the day. After breakfast we were not rushed and were free to enjoy a wander around the extensive garden. I saw grapefruit growing for the first time! Quite a thrill! My husband treated the owners and their daughter to "Sarie Marais" played on his guitar before we resumed our journey!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alwaysinterested2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We so much enjoyed our stay in the Karoo Lodge. One night was far too short, next time we will stay longer and try George's kitchen!! Our room was spacious and clean, with a very comfortable and big bed. The shower, as already mentioned, original and fun. We enjoyed a really nice breakfast outside on the cosy terrace served by the daughter of the hosts. We were delighted by very friendly and attentive service. We even managed to sit in one of the comfy lounge chairs to read a book, with a nice view of the garden, during our short stay. We really got great value for the money and would like to recommend the Karoo Lodge to anyone who wants to spend time in charming Prince Albert. You can walk everywhere from the Lodge. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalleHill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
1.7 km away
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
Dennehof Karoo Guesthouse
#4 of 20 in Prince Albert
283 reviews
0.2 km away
Swartberg Hotel
Swartberg Hotel
#9 of 20 in Prince Albert
186 reviews
0.1 km away
Mai's Guest Lodge
Mai's Guest Lodge
#2 of 20 in Prince Albert
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
Saxe-Coburg Lodge
#8 of 20 in Prince Albert
158 reviews
0.3 km away
Prince Albert Country Stay
Prince Albert Country Stay
#5 of 20 in Prince Albert
127 reviews
0.5 km away
Onse Rus Guest House
Onse Rus Guest House
#6 of 20 in Prince Albert
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Lodge

Address: 66 Church Street | P O Box 228, Prince Albert Municipality, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert Municipality > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range: $90 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karoo Lodge Bed & Breakfast, Prince Albert, is situated Town Central and surrounded by a hectare (2.5 acres) of lush and tranquil garden with various established Grape Vines, Fruit - and Pecan Nut trees...more than 150 "Old World" fragrant rose bushes....Free WiFi.....Free onsite parking..... Free Breakfast.....Cool swimming pool......Four spacious (45sq m) suites with Lounge Area/Separate Dressing Area... Bathroom with separate shower and bath... Private Entrances off the garden.... One Standard Suite (30sqm) Bathroom with separate shower and bath. Separate Toilet....Private entrance off Pool Deck....All Suites with...Private Deck......King Bed/Twin Bed option...... Modern silent Air Conditioner and Ceiling Fan...... Coffee/tea making facilities......Under-counter Bar Fridge.(not stocked)......International Electric Plug Points....... Hotel Boutique TV Chanels including sport channels....Individual Solar/Electric Hot Water Supply. Fully Licensed in-house Restaurant and Cocktail Bar "At 66".....Serving...Karoo, Cape Traditional and Cape Malay (Halal) Cuisine..... Wide Estate Wine selection from Local, Little Karoo and Breede River Valley....Manicures by professionally trained personnel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karoo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing