We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please pick up the game - Cheyne's”
Review of Cheyne's

Cheyne's
Ranked #2 of 75 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Incredible Contemporary Asian Cuisine, Cocktails and an impressive selection of wines.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Always have been a BIG fan of Cheyne's: ever since it first opened its doors and i even took 'the heat' from other 'tripadvisors' when I rated the entire experience better than the 'Test Kitchen' - with exception of the wine list! But that was then! I have since been back on occasion but am finding that Cheyne's cachet is diluting. Perhaps it is since a branch has opened in the City? or is it as a result perhaps of the location move!? Portions have shrunk (?)...it is just all together not quite the same! Please pick up the game 'Cheyne'. Hout Bay needs to keep the bar high! Constantia Nek offerings are calling! And let's not talk about the Kronendaal - Kitima 'katastrophe'!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Went to Cheyne’s last night for a meal with friends & I wanted to post & say how lovely, fresh & creative the food was!! Been only once before in the new premises & it did not disappoint. Was unusually quite for a Saturday evening but the staff were very friendly & helpful & the food was lovely. Well done Cheyne’s & keep up the good work would recommend a visit to anyone ❤️

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank LinzW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Hout Bay has long been something of a culinary desert, even more so with the recent closure of the excellent and much-missed Kitima. Cheyne’s (we heard it pronounced Shane’s by several people) tries to fill the gap by serving the Cape Town food of the moment - Asian tapas. At R280pp for four plates each it seems good value but the food was hit and miss. Highlights included a yellow tail sashimi, hot and sour risotto with prawns and grilled aubergine. The meat dishes were less successful and although perfectly edible lacked the wow factor. The small wine list was well chosen with reasonable mark ups and we drank a bottle of Bouchard Finlayson Chardonnay for R300. Service was good and attentive. The restaurant itself is in a row of shops on the main road. Overall we had a good evening but we felt that the food needs to improve.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OldHound88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Wow this was some yummy food!
We were a group of 10 and it's such nice sharing tasty food with a nice atmosphere, good wine list and friendly staff.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

I was looking so forward to eating in this restaurant on our recent return to Cape Town as I have previously tasted his food
What a disappointment. What you get on your plate is not what is described on the menu. The one dish was so dry I had to send it back. They did offer and make me another dish which was most appreciated. Even if the chef is not there the food should be of the same standard especially if you paying for a gourmet experience.
Positive is that it is a very cosy venue with a fire place in winter. Good wine list. Staff well trained.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Beate30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheyne's also viewed

 

Been to Cheyne's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing