We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Delicious”

Tuk Tuk Microbrewery
Ranked #24 of 102 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 7
Description: The Tuk Tuk 'Taqueria' serves Mexican-inspired ceviche, nachos & tacos, perfect partners to our craft brews. The interior design for Tuk Tuk exudes an industrial feel with its vaulted ceiling, exposed brick & sandblasted walls, and copper & stainless steel service pipes running overhead. Patrons can be seated indoors around the microbrewery or outdoors on the bustling main street of the village.
Restaurant details
Description: The Tuk Tuk 'Taqueria' serves Mexican-inspired ceviche, nachos & tacos, perfect partners to our craft brews. The interior design for Tuk Tuk exudes an industrial feel with its vaulted ceiling, exposed brick & sandblasted walls, and copper & stainless steel service pipes running overhead. Patrons can be seated indoors around the microbrewery or outdoors on the bustling main street of the village.
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Went here for a light lunch and to sample their craft beers.
Service was very prompt and friendly. We ordered a tasting paddle, which was nicely presented with descriptions of the brews, as well as nachos - absolutely delicious!
The only downside of the experience was the very dark (although at least clean) bathrooms.

Thank GlobalGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewLeeuEstates, General Manager at Tuk Tuk Microbrewery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear GlobalGirl78,

Thank you for your great review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our craft brews and Mexican inspired dishes and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Tuk Tuk Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 295 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a more relaxed place to have lunch - and really enjoyed the tuk tuk microbrewery. The food was delicious and the setting lovely.

Frranschoek is filled with really great restaurants - this restaurant is less pricey and serves gastro pub type food (rather than bistro or fine dining). If this is what you're looking for - I'd recommended Tuk Tuk - if you're looking for fine dining / bistro food / European cooking - go elsewhere.

Thank Abbey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewLeeuEstates, General Manager at Tuk Tuk Microbrewery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear Abby S,

Thank you for your review.

We love that you enjoyed our Mexican inspired dishes and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Tuk Tuk Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Fantastic beers; my favorite became the Tuktuk weiss. Every night the place was packed with people. I do love the corn nuggets with spicy smoked sauce. Even the bathrooms are fantastic. Go and have a look/drink yourself when in the area.

Thank Jurgen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewLeeuEstates, General Manager at Tuk Tuk Microbrewery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear Jurgen M,

Thank you for your great review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our home brews and Mexican inspired dishes.

Kind Regards,

Tuk Tuk Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

We wanted a light lunch and were very happy with our choice of Tuk Tuk. My husband particularly enjoyed his beer tasting, complete with short explanations of each small glass. My lunch was full of color and flavor, and the location on the main street in Franschhoek was perfect. Well done!

Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewLeeuEstates, General Manager at Tuk Tuk Microbrewery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear Cynthia G,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted you and your husband enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Tuk Tuk Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Good vibe in the restaurant and it's not too loud. Food was really tasty but the portions were quite un-man sized.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LittleSharde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewLeeuEstates, General Manager at Tuk Tuk Microbrewery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Dear LittleSharde,

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,

Tuk Tuk Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuk Tuk Microbrewery also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Tuk Tuk Microbrewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing