We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies dream! ”
Review of Le Bon Vivant

Le Bon Vivant
Ranked #9 of 104 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 20
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious food! You only find great food in Franschhoek but this was up another level.I had a summer set menu as this is what I had already identified on the menu- it was great value and the dessert finished it off perfectly. We did drink a lot of wine and liquor coffee (which was the best I’ve had in a long time) due to the fact the service was rather slow. We didn’t have any where to go but three courses did take 3 hrs ....which for us was a bit too long waiting in between courses

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank joolsyT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fantastic three course meal here on our first night in South Africa.
I had the tuna for starter, and springbok for main and I would give both dishes 10/10. It was my first time having springbok, cooked medium rare on recommendation from the waitress and the only way I could describe it is that it was like beef fillet but nicer!

My wife also thoroughly enjoyed her dishes and we were pleseantly surprised at how cheap it was for such quality food.

A must try!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Stephen0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Earlier experienced were mixed: high ambitions in the kitchen, but operations in the restaurant area were somewhat offhandedly. Now there is more balance. Service is very efficient, too efficient actually. Staff is literally running around (while not even having a full house on a Monday night), there is no time for adding some extra service. The food is very good, but not of a quality that makes you sit straight and concentrate. The Bon Vivant provides a more than decent meal, but not an experience that lasts, or makes you want to spread the word. Scaling down or adding and training staff might help.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 326philipd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

A short walk from the Leeu House. Service was slow because of a large party, but we were not in a hurry. We went on a mid-week night, yet they were very busy. Good idea to reserve ahead.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We have dined here before and had the most fantastic dining experience so we booked well ahead for this Sunday evening experience and were met by a friendly waitress and quickly shown to our 'corner of the room' table, where we could view other's dining but also the open kitchen and the chef and team diligent in their work.
We started with a glass of champagne(MCC), while in South Africa, whilst browsing the fantastic, varied menu, there was a wine pairing/food pairing menu available but we chose to go a la carte.
This as an incredible experience indeed! When dining at the higher end, the chef will often deliver, their own little appetiser, and other palatable extra's between courses and these were very well appreciated.
The bitteballen, a typical Dutch style(the chef/proprietor is Dutch), the prawn risotto, and the red sea bass were all delicious and this was an amazing dining experience, beyond even our last visit here and up to this point our finest dining experience in the three weeks in South Africa.
A fine bottle of Rose was taken with the main course, perfect match and the desserts were the finished part of excellence- 'wow'.
Value for money, excellent cuisine, excellent service and a place to get dressed up for an occasion, its just a shame to see that South African restaurant's generally do not have a standard code of attire set for dining in the evening because to see people dressed in shorts, old ripped trousers and flip flops, just means that educating people about food is one thing, education of people's respect and self respect is another.
Excellent visit again, congratulations on this magical creation that is food of the highest order.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 111TWIGAMINHAAFRIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bon Vivant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Bon Vivant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing