We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
199
18
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
18
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful boutique hotel the main street snack basket mr singh micro brewery usb ports complimentary transportation mini bar attention to detail pool area is very cheese biscuits cooked menu wonderful base sister hotel highest order complimentary minibar outstanding hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Leeu House is a beautiful boutique hotel where you instantly feel comfortable and cozy. The welcome area has a fireplace and an "honesty bar" where you can make a drink and lounge in total comfort, or have a quiet breakfast. The rooms surround a beautiful pool and courtyard area that exudes tranquility.

The staff are all extremely friendly and professional, and went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. They had set up a nice bottle of wine in our room (we were on our honeymoon) and made us feel completely at home. We highly recommend the Leeu House - it is the perfect place to explore Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aashby999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Public Relations and Marketing at Leeu House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Leeu House and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Hayley Knight
Public Relations and Marketing
Leeu Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Stayed here for 5 nights in January, having visited area many times over last 10 years. Fantastic location within easy walking distance of loads of restaurants in the evening and several vinyards in daytime. Had a great room with terrace outside space. Also enjoyed complimentary wine tasting at Leeu estate. We have already booked a further 5 day stay in January 2019!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Norfolkbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Public Relations and Marketing at Leeu House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. The team and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at Leeu House and we look forward to welcoming you back this coming January!

kind regards,

Hayley Knight
Public Relations and Marketing
Leeu Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

My go-to for a great bottle of wine or lunch when in Franschhoek. I love th refurbishment of this historic house, sensitively and beautifully executed. I have also never not met great like-mired people there.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank deonredman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Public Relations and Marketing at Leeu House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. The team and I are thrilled you enjoy your time at Leeu House and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hayley Knight
Public Relations and Marketing
Leeu Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

I don't have much to say as we just stayed one quick night but room was clean and enough spacious, breakfast was good and location is convenient. Service was fast. we didn't have time to use any facility.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Public Relations and Marketing at Leeu House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Leeu House and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hayley Knight
Public Relations and Marketing
Leeu Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The hotel is perfectly situated on the main street and incredibly quiet. We were there for our honeymoon and were left a nice note and some chocolates when we arrived.

The room:
We had a great view of the mountains, which meant opening up the curtains in the morning was pretty spectacular. It was spacious and clean with a really nice bathroom. They need to get iron's in the room (I'll explain below).

The surroundings:
Leeu House is really small and intimate, with a lovely pool area and a gorgeous conservatory where they service breakfast. I can imagine it's even more beautiful in the Summer when you can eat outside. The lounge area is nice, with a fire place and comfy seating plus an honesty bar. The gym and spa are located a drive away at the Leeu Estate but you do have a transfer service to get you there and back.

Service:
The first person on reception when we arrived was exceptional - really welcoming, friendly and helpful. After that everyone was nice but he really really stood out. They have a free pressing service, which we used as they weren't able to provide an iron, however housekeeping managed to iron a hole in one of my new shirts. Annoying but not the end of the world...however the way they dealt with it was really disappointing. Instead of just apologising and either taking the cost of the laundry we'd had done off the bill (they actually made us pay for it!!) or giving us a glass of wine or something in compensation the woman who came to tell us said that the person in housekeeping who had made the mistake had offered to pay for the shirt!! Obviously I'm not going to make an individual working in housekeeping pay for something...I thought that was a really uncomfortable way to deal with the situation, putting the blame on an individual rather than accepting responsibility as the hotel.

The team were really great advising us on places to eat. We ended up going to Reubens, La Petit Colombe and Le Coin Francais - all of which were great and within walking distance of the hotel.

Wine tasting:
The Leeu Estates wine tasting is well worth it - the tasting room is beautiful and in an amazing setting and the wine was decent too.

Spa:
You MUST go to the spa. It's incredible and in the most beautiful setting (again a short drive away but you have the transfer service to the Leeu Estate). If we'd had more time we would definitely have gone back. Sitting out by the pool briefly was so relaxing and the view is to die for. The massages were really great and the rooms you have them in are beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K, Public Relations and Marketing at Leeu House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you for your review, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay, I have passed your comments on to our hotel manager who has been in contact with you. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hayley Knight
Public Relations and Marketing
Leeu Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews