We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !! ”

Village Grill and Butcher
Ranked #13 of 101 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Village Grill is Franschhoek’s destination for outstanding steaks, family-friendly dining, and fresh take-home meats. Join us for a cozy dinner inside, a relaxing lunch in the garden, a sundowner on the veranda, or a quick visit to the butcher’s counter!
Restaurant details
Description: Village Grill is Franschhoek’s destination for outstanding steaks, family-friendly dining, and fresh take-home meats. Join us for a cozy dinner inside, a relaxing lunch in the garden, a sundowner on the veranda, or a quick visit to the butcher’s counter!
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times and keep coming back - food is amazing - every one at our 12 seater had a great meal - my pork belly was awesome. Creme brûlée was yummy too .

Thank ajebens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranschhoekGrill, Owner at Village Grill and Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Ajebens,

What a wonderful feeling your positive and supportive feedback is providing!

We are so glad that - having been to our restaurant “a few times" - you continue to find the experience at Village Grill to be “amazing”.

Of course we would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back again (and again and again) ………!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Fantastic setting, amazing food Perfect place for an after wine tasting lunch
The fish melted in my mouth The pork was delightful
And the desserts were too divine

Thank jennybG2131HQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranschhoekGrill, Owner at Village Grill and Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Jenny B

Thank you so much for your delightful review on your recent visit to our restaurant!

Reviews such as yours mean the world to us in that they serve not only to motivate but also provide immense satisfaction to all of us at the Village Grill - after all, the happiness of our customers is what really counts.

We are so looking forward to welcoming you back at your earliest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

The fillet steak was excellent and I think everyone enjoyed their meals! There were not many other people in the restaurant so the atmosphere was a little quiet! The waitress had not been well trained as she kept interrupting everyone! Almost to the point of rudeness. The manager doesn’t manager the restaurant as he seemed to prefer a very low profile! Won’t rush back.

Thank r0bbie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranschhoekGrill, Owner at Village Grill and Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear r0bbie2

Thank you so much for your candid and valuable feedback on your recent experience in Village Grill!

We are heartened by your very positive comment that “The fillet steak was excellent and I think everyone enjoyed their meals!”
The quality of our food is of extreme importance to us and supportive feedback such as this, indeed underscores the efforts by our kitchen!

It is therefore all the more of concern to us that your great food experience has been marred by the disappointing service you received from the waitress!
We have taken due note of your observations in this regard and wish to assure you that this matter has already been and will continue to be addressed with our serving staff.
Also the role of the manager is being re-assessed, especially as concerns situations of a more “quiet atmosphere”, such as was the case on the night of your visit.

We thus do take the liberty to express the sincere wish that we may have the privilege once again in the near future to welcome you back at the Village Grill - we would relish the opportunity to provide you with an experience where the quality of our food is matched by the quality of our service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Nice atmosphere with nice log fires inside. Great for a cold night. The food was also good. I ordered the lamb shank which was perfectly cooked and fell of the bone. But it was a little bit under seasoned for my taste. Other people ordered curry and the fish of the day and all enjoyed their meal. The wine list was good. Service was quick and the waitress was pleasant. All in all a pleasant evening.

Thank mervyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranschhoekGrill, Owner at Village Grill and Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear mervyn I,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to our restaurant!

Indeed, we pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere we aim to create with the inside log fire, and we are delighted that your experience confirms this!

Your comments on the food are appreciated, and difficult as it may be to satisfy all individual tastes at all times, we certainly will continue our quest to constantly satisfy even the most discerning guests such as obviously yourself.

Having been “all in all a pleasant evening”, we sincerely hope to be welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Had dinner here, service good in the end ( first tried to seat us on a table that was by a door and exposed to constant draughts, table should certainly not be located there ). Once moved to a better table all was good. Every dish was good, steak very good. Would visit again for sure.

Thank davidfisher9799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranschhoekGrill, Owner at Village Grill and Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear davidfisher9799,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments following your recent visit to our restaurant!

Your initial seating was an obvious bad choice by our staff, for which we do apologise. And yes, we will move the particular table.

We are delighted that you found "every dish” to be “good”, and the steak to be “very good”.

Your promise to “visit again for sure” is an inspiration to all of us, and we would be so happy to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Grill and Butcher also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Simondium, Franschhoek
 

Been to Village Grill and Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing