We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveller rating
628
77
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
77
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house homemade bread perfect hosts granola the main road lovely pool area excellent breakfast book restaurants great place to stay within easy walking distance attention to detail trout quiet location dinner reservations no hesitation in recommending short walk restaurant bookings
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 715 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018

A first class guesthouse that deserves all 5 stars!
We had a wonderful 3 days here. The rooms are both beautiful & spacious.
Tim & Nadine couldn't have made us feel more welcome.
They arranged restaurants for the evenings (and transport) & recommended some beautiful places
to visit during our stay. Their hospitality was faultless.
Perfect location for all the amenities in the village.
Hoping to return next year.
Thanks for a memorable stop in Franschhoek.

Ashbourne House is definitely the place to stay if you are visiting Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We stayed at Ashbourne House for 4 days recently and could not find fault with any aspect of our stay, our hosts Tim and Nadine went out of their way to make it a perfect stay.
They went the extra mile to recommend and book restaurants for us, they also recommended vineyards and tastings that we would not have found ourselves

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steveP5151ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

The staff and owners were incredibly welcoming and attentive. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The guest house was extremely clean, charming and quiet. The property is within a short walking distance of Franschhoek’s main street.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rmoone_634819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

About a year ago we visited Franschoek for the first time. Our clever travel agent recommended Ashbourne House where we stayed for five nights. It is a short walk out of the town in a quiet street with lovely views.The welcome and quality of the work done by Tim and Nadine Roggenbach persuaded me to write one of my first Trip Adviser reviews!
A year later we are back in South Africa for a longer visit. We had to fit in Ashbourne House but could only manage two nights this year. Would we be disappointed?

Goodness me not! We were greeted like old friends . The business goes from success to success. Although we had a smaller room this time by the pool, it looked to have been recently completely refurbished and was quite perfect. Tim is the perfect host, ever available to give advice on restaurants, wine farms or pour a glass of lovely rose wine for guests around the lovely pool as the shadows lengthen.

The breakfasts on the front terrace are still delicious with the home made lemon marmalade being a specialty. Workmen were repainting the outside of the guest house and the total effect is as good as it gets!

We hope to return next year for longer but suspect with only 8 rooms, the waiting lists soon will be growing longer and longer.

Good luck to our marvellous hosts and long may their enterprise be rewarded.

Thanks

Jeremy and Rachel Taylor

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeremy1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

You cant beat this amazing place.I question why we have spent money staying in 5 star properties in the area when such a great couple ca nrun such a five star guest house.ROOMS AMAZING AND BREAKFAST SUPERB.MOST IMPORTANTLY SERVICE IS AMAZING

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews