We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
620
77
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
77
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house homemade bread perfect hosts granola the main road lovely pool area excellent breakfast within easy walking distance attention to detail ryan's kitchen no hesitation in recommending trout dinner reservations great place to stay rooms are lovely quiet street comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were recommended Ashbourne House by friends and we were delighted by the experience. The Guesthouse is beautifully decorated and the rooms an excellent size, the pool and courtyard are an oasis, perfect for afternoon relaxing in the sun. Russell and John are fabulous hosts, their knowledge, enthusiasm and natural love of people and the area make for an unforgettable experience. Their recommendations were perfectly suited to what we wanted to do and they made sure we made the very best of our stay in Franschhoek. We will definitely be returning, hopefully very soon!!

Room Tip: The rooms alongside the pool are great
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had a fantastic room at the top of the house - lots of space, a top hotel quality bathroom and an extremely comfortable bed. John and Russell were both hospitable and also very knowledgeable in helping us to navigate the best places to visit in the area (both vineyards and eateries). The breakfast was extremely tasty with lots of lovely homemade touches. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My sister and I stayed at Ashburne for 11 days. Hosts John and Russell took good care of us and was very hospitable. They were very helpful in recommending activities, restaurants, etc..The breakfast was delicious with plenty to choose from. We advise anyone planning to travel to Franschhoek to stay at Asbhurne.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 439Eivind439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We had a lovely stay at AH and were so well looked after by John and Russell, especially at breakfast when they took such good care of us with the world's best french toast. Enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmacksoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My friend and I stayed at Ashbourne House for three nights while exploring the surrounding sine district. The room was charming, the garden beautiful, the breakfasts were delicious and the service was great. John was a very helpful and welcoming host. I would recommend this place to anyone, particularly if, like us, you have been camping for 40 nights in Africa and need a little luxury!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews