We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
500
57
16
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
57
16
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini desserts pool suite creme brulees small hotel the main street boutique hotel free bar our honeymoon attention to detail each evening within walking distance turn down service his team rooms are huge sparkling wine lounge area stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

This boutique hotel is very conveniently situated for the town
Huge room pleasantly decorated
Good buffet and hot breakfast served by friendly and attentive staff
Safe parking area although it's small
Guest lounge area

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Marketing at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for this kind feedback, we are supremely fortunate to be located in the heart of Franschhoek.
Wishing you safe travels and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The Last Word is a hidden gem in a great location. Decor is understated and elegant, service is professional and unobtrusive. The breakfasts were brilliant and we liked the turndown service with mini desserts rather than the ubiquitous chocolate left on the pillow. Our Manager Franklin provided us with great dining and wine tour recommendations. Our room was spacious and we loved the water saving measures they encouraged their guests to support. The Last Word is a tranquil haven which encourages its guests to treat the property as a home away from home.

Room Tip: We loved our upstairs room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Marketing at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you Maria for this wonderful feedback. We have recently refreshed our breakfast menu and are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed it. Franklin is a great asset to our team and has a vast knowledge regarding the available entertainment in Franschhoek, we can always count on him to know what's happening in town. Thank you for supporting our water saving efforts, we appreciate every drop that guests are able to save.
Wishing you safe travels and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This stay was to be the highlight of our South African trip because Franschhoek is such a wonderful place; we did a 7 hour drive from Plettenberg and, having already stayed at the Last Word Constantia, felt confident we were in for a treat.

The hotel is a lot smaller than its Constantia hotel, and felt more like an upmarket, boutique B&B, which was fine, but took a little adjusting to. Our only difficulty was the room (4), which, due to a lack of natural light, felt dull and a little unwelcoming. There were also a couple of issues with damaged fixtures and fittings that stopped it from feeling like the luxury we were hoping for.

When Conrad came on duty the next day, however, he did everything in his power to turn the situation round for us. We were just at the point of cutting our losses and deciding to move on to a different hotel, so we could truly relax, and enjoy the last part of our possible last trip to South Africa. What we hadn't realised was the efforts Conrad would go to to to remedy the situation, especially as the hotel was fully booked. We were offered a different room (1) which felt totally different, and much more suited to a special occasion. This room was bright, with lots of natural light, spacious, and with a small sun room and private decking area overlooking the pool. This was a real sun trap and a lovely area to relax and unwind in the late afternoon. Conrad helped us move our belongings from one room to the next, ensured we were settled and happy, and sent a bottle of bubbles by way of apology.

We got the sense that Conrad couldn't relax if he thought any of the guests were unhappy in any way, and he genuinely wanted to make sure every guest had the best time possible, and that all their needs were being met. This was clearly not just for the benefit of us who had been disappointed, his management style and interactions with all guests was quite brilliant. He was happy to make restaurant and transport arrangements for anyone who needed them, and was genuinely interested to hear about our dining experiences in and around Franschhoek.

We ended our trip feeling relaxed, taken care of and thoroughly spoiled. We loved Franschhoek as much as ever, and thanks to Conrad and his team, our stay there was every bit as special and relaxing as we'd hoped it would be.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Marketing at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for this lovely feedback, Conrad and his team are truly dedicated to ensuring that each guest feels relaxed and at ease at all times, and so we are glad to hear that Conrad was able to attend to your concerns and turn the situation around. Franschhoek is a truly stunning town and we are delighted in sharing the best experiences it has to offer with our guests. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps at our Long Beach Hotel in Kommetjie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

It was a bit hard to find but when we did we received a very warm welcome. All the staff were very friendly, efficient and very helpful. Our room was very comfortable although the open plan bathroom was not so good. The breakfasts were delicious, I especially enjoyed the corn cakes. Being on the main street the location is perfect for walking to all the very good restaurants and the shops.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoSaint51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Marketing at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for this lovely feedback, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We have recently revamped our menu and so we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it, perhaps on your next visit you would be interested to know that our two other hotels also serve lunch and dinner.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Our travel agent at Go2Africa booked us at The Last Word for our stay in Franschhoek. Unfortunately, we were both feeling a bit under the weather in by the time we got to the hotel, but the staff were amazing when it came to accommodating our rather bed ridden nature. When we did start to feel better, we realized that we had not made any reservations for dinner or wine tasting, but the manager bent over backwards to to get us a dinner reservation and assist with wine tram tickets. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kels_L_V, Marketing at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you Michelle for this wonderful feedback.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Franschhoek and that we were able to assist you in organising dinner reservations and tickets or the wine tram. We hope you had a wonderful time exploring our beautiful town and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews