We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Top Drawer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our second visit doesnt disappoint. Franklin and Conrad continue to deliver a service that is exceptional. We had some shocking weather during our stay but Conrad was always front and centre ensuring our comfort and recommending places to go and see. Franschhoek is not short of accomodation options but we certainly havent looked anywhere else other than our home from home at the Last Word. There is nothing that is too much trouble for them, and they take the time and effort to ensure your stay is memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClintN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 413 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Fabulous small hotel in the heart of Franschhoek offering a five star service with a warm, friendly and personal touch. Rooms were beautiful, stylish and contained everything one needed. Beds were heavenly and the under floor heating was a luxurious touch which came in useful as the weather was cold during our stay. Franklin could not do enough to help us and was always available to assist with any query we had. He was also a great source of information for places to eat and things to do in the area. Breakfast was delicious with a surprisingly large array of food to choose from. All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable stay. The complimentary drinks in the lounge and in the room, mini desserts left in the bedroom in the evening, and the endless supply of hot drinks and goodies for which no extra charge is made set this hotel apart from the rest. Could not provide any better recommendation for anyone wishing to stay in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Stevely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Last Word. We were greeted warmly on arrival by Franklin who took us on a small tour of the hotel's grounds and facilities before taking us to our room. Both Franklin and Conrad were most helpful in recommending wineries and restaurants to visit and we had a table at French Connection pre-booked for our arrival night. A really nice touch and something that wasn't at all pushed on us, it was purely provisional and we were under no obligation to accept.

The rooms were fantastic, really modern and well kept. A problem with a hairdryer was sorted immediately following a quick phone call. Breakfast was very good, a large continental selection and hot food made to order as well.

My favourite part of this hotel though, were all the little quirks and treats that set it above others. Instead of chocolates we were given ramekins of desserts when we returned to our rooms of an evening and we had complimentary red and white house wines and sherry in our rooms and at the bar. Made you feel right at home!

All in all, it was a great stay and I would thoroughly recommend The Last Word to anyone looking for accomodation in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2penniesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Lovely rooms, great service, friendly staff, excellent location. A definite reccommendation when coming to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Fantastic welcome and lovely room with petals on the bed. Excellent room with enclosed patio and direct access to pool. The hotel had made a reservation at the French Connection restaurant for our evening meal. We were given details on some wineries to visit by the helpful staff. However some service issues. Firstly the air conditioning unit stopped working at 9 pm and we were unable to contact anybody by phone to sort the problem out. There was nobody around when I searched but after about 15 mins the manager eventually phoned us and then came and rectified the problem. Secondly we left a breakfast order on the door for in room breakfast. However we sat and waited the next day and no breakfast arrived. We looked on the door and the order was still there!! This was a lovely hotel and we would stay again but the management needs to address these few niggles

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.5 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.7 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
1.3 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $420 - $1,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Preferred Hotels, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing