We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
491
57
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
57
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini desserts pool suite creme brulees small hotel the main street boutique hotel our honeymoon attention to detail each evening his team turn down service within walking distance middle of town rooms are huge underfloor heating sparkling wine stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Fabulous small hotel in the heart of Franschhoek offering a five star service with a warm, friendly and personal touch. Rooms were beautiful, stylish and contained everything one needed. Beds were heavenly and the under floor heating was a luxurious touch which came in useful as the weather was cold during our stay. Franklin could not do enough to help us and was always available to assist with any query we had. He was also a great source of information for places to eat and things to do in the area. Breakfast was delicious with a surprisingly large array of food to choose from. All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable stay. The complimentary drinks in the lounge and in the room, mini desserts left in the bedroom in the evening, and the endless supply of hot drinks and goodies for which no extra charge is made set this hotel apart from the rest. Could not provide any better recommendation for anyone wishing to stay in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Stevely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Last Word. We were greeted warmly on arrival by Franklin who took us on a small tour of the hotel's grounds and facilities before taking us to our room. Both Franklin and Conrad were most helpful in recommending wineries and restaurants to visit and we had a table at French Connection pre-booked for our arrival night. A really nice touch and something that wasn't at all pushed on us, it was purely provisional and we were under no obligation to accept.

The rooms were fantastic, really modern and well kept. A problem with a hairdryer was sorted immediately following a quick phone call. Breakfast was very good, a large continental selection and hot food made to order as well.

My favourite part of this hotel though, were all the little quirks and treats that set it above others. Instead of chocolates we were given ramekins of desserts when we returned to our rooms of an evening and we had complimentary red and white house wines and sherry in our rooms and at the bar. Made you feel right at home!

All in all, it was a great stay and I would thoroughly recommend The Last Word to anyone looking for accomodation in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2penniesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Lovely rooms, great service, friendly staff, excellent location. A definite reccommendation when coming to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Fantastic welcome and lovely room with petals on the bed. Excellent room with enclosed patio and direct access to pool. The hotel had made a reservation at the French Connection restaurant for our evening meal. We were given details on some wineries to visit by the helpful staff. However some service issues. Firstly the air conditioning unit stopped working at 9 pm and we were unable to contact anybody by phone to sort the problem out. There was nobody around when I searched but after about 15 mins the manager eventually phoned us and then came and rectified the problem. Secondly we left a breakfast order on the door for in room breakfast. However we sat and waited the next day and no breakfast arrived. We looked on the door and the order was still there!! This was a lovely hotel and we would stay again but the management needs to address these few niggles

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We arrived in the rain but were greeted very warmly by Franklin. We had one of the rooms in the outside building but it was more like a flat, and was beautifully decorated. The staff were all extremely polite and helpful, we really were made to feel as though we were in our own home. The location is excellent, right in the middle of the town. We would love to come back her and would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Imagine Africa for finding this little gem for us!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews