We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Last Word Franschhoek
Nearby Hotels
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
USD 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 252
USD 204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holden Manz Country House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
USD 152
USD 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
USD 114
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Roux Street(Franschhoek)
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
USD 140
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calais Guest House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
USD 88
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lekkerwijn(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boschendal Cottages(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
USD 392
USD 94
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 527
USD 379
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
476
55
14
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
55
14
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suitemini dessertscreme bruleessmall hotelthe main streetboutique hotelfree barour honeymoonattention to detaileach eveningturn down serviceunderfloor heatinghis teamrooms are hugemiddle of townwithin walking distancesparkling wine
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our three night stay at The Last Word after exploring Cape Town was a truly delightful experience. Conrad and Franklin are perfect hosts who make you feel very special in this small hotel. Being able to walk down the main street safely to all the restaurants is a big bonus, no shortage of places to eat although some get booked up very quickly in high season. The rooms are amazing especially the pool suites with lots of attention to detail. If you like personal small places to stay then I recommend the 'The Last Word' you know that all rooms are special with good service. I agree with one of the reviews it is expensive but we felt it was worth spending that bit more for our first visit to S Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapinBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at "The Last Word" in Franschhoek for three nights at the end of a great two & a half weeks touring in Cape Province and unknowlingly we had kept the very best until last. We can't praise this small hotel enough from the warmth of Franklin's welcome as Senior staff member, to the beauty of our pool room (Room No. 2 - excellent), the fabulous breakfast, the homely but quality decor, the honesty bar a lovely touch. The staff could not do enough for us without being 'in your face' - they arranged three evening meals for us at first class local restuarants within walking distance - they arranged a day out touring vinyards using the hotels own vehicle and taking us where ever we wanted to go. Three words describe this venue and hotel - TRULY FIRST CLASS. Thank you Franklin we do hope to return.

Room Tip: They have two pool rooms each having their own private plunge pools and patio - Rooms 1 and 2
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j4gun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our short two night stay was wonderful. Somewhat expensive, but worth it.
Both Conrad and Franklin provide superb personal service, always available to assist, and constantly looking for ways to make our stay more comfortable.
From the rose petals on our bed on arrival, creme-brule waiting for us on our return from a memorable dinner at Grande Provence, to a small champagne awaiting us the next night, the level of attention to detail was outstanding.
In addition, free internet, free wi-fi and refreshments on call.
And finally, the breakfast was excellent. Even some of my favourite, pickled fish, on offer one morning!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We came to Franschhoek after our stay at their sister boutique establishment in Bishopscourt, Cape Town, and so our expectations were quite high. It doesn't have the view that Bishopscourt had. It's just as delightful, with the added advantage of being almost in the centre of the village, although set back a little from the main road. (actually, it's so discreet it was a little hard to find). Dozens of restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Conrad is the perfect host and you feel as if your are sharing his home. From his relaxed greeting and the infomal registration, you immediately feel relaxed in this beautiful 6 room boutique hotel.
Conrad will book your dinner reservations and knows all the good places to eat (they're are'nt any bad ones though it seems!).
The rooms are lovely and we walked out of our patio straight to the pool. Wonderful!
You are left to do as much of little as you please and its perfect for exploring Franschoek and the surrounding wineries.
The roof top terrace is perfect for a 'sundowner' and maybe they could make slightly more of this facility.
We were sad to leave but will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david1960uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews