We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was a first visit to the Akademie Street hotel and it lived up to its incredible reviews. We stayed in the Vreugde room which boasts a private plunge pool and bed bigger than the average London flat. The accommodation was perfect. It's clear a lot of thought has gone into every detail to make sure the stay is as comfortable as possible. The space outside the room was beautiful and we were brought breakfast to have on our patio the following morning. The food was delicious and the service impeccable.

Room Tip: Each room seems to have its own characteristics so make sure to read the descriptions and pick what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGfromJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
106
846
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our second visit to Akademie Street and it was just as good as we remembered. Our room was Vreugde, with a beautiful little garden and pool, so peaceful. The breakfasts are served in the courtyard and so good. There are so many little extras, as well as very stylish rooms with all amenities. Everyone is so friendly with helpful advice about what to see and where to eat, many restaurants being only a few minutes walk away. We cannot wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

A really very nice and tranquil place where the staff go out of their way to look after you. The accommodation is great and the pool area really is much lovelier in real life than the photos suggest. We stayed in Uitsig which was spacious and has a good terrace with a mountain view. Franschhoek itself is a quiet little town more popular with older couples from my experience and the style of this boutique hotel is reflective of this. That said the staff are so nice I am sure they would try their best to accommodate all travellers. In particular I should mention the breakfast here which was the best we had in South Africa. Franschhoek is an easy place in which to park but we had off street parking in any event. The wifi works a treat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reluctant_Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We spent 3 nights here in Jan 2012, our first time in Franschhoek. Couldn`t have asked for a better experience. The location is fantastic, basically 3 blocks from the main street in town, where you will spend most of your time in restaurants/bars/shops etc, but far enough removed to remain quiet and comfortable. The quality of the accommodation is just superb, we stayed in the largest house, Gelatenheid, which was definitely worth it! Completely detached 2 floor house, with private pool, gardens and off street parking. Very spacious and comfortable, all amenities are complimentary, including laundry (a first for me), and use of a mobile phone. Outdoor bath also a first. The breakfast each morning was probably the best ive ever had, home made museli, a platter of fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and juice. Arthur, Katherine and Hazel were great hosts, and very knowledgeable about the best wineries and tastings in Franschhoek. Couldn`t recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

this place cannot be faulted. We stayed there in December 2011. Excellent central location and just back from the main street ,extremely quiet. Though we had the second least expensive room (Uitsig with view) it was enormous with large windows on three sides. My recollection is 9 in all. so the room was full of light and had a balcony. A large and comfortable bed which was bigger than a super king. Housekeeping was superb with the room being cleaned sheets etc changed by the time we returned from breakfast.The (free) laundry service promised next day but in fact was same day. There was a free well stocked mini bar and a free mobile phone to use as well as uk adaptors. Breakfast had everything, with home made items and everything cooked to order. The owners were keen to assist and gave freely of their local knowledge and e. g.printed off maps for us for routes to Stellenbosch etc. If you want to stay in Franschhoek don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jock16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.5 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price range (per night): $368 - $595
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing