We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Franschhoek, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
derby2
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What can we say, it was fantastic. Great apartment, very comfortable and well equipped, and use of a lovely swimming pool. It’s a short walk (about 10 minutes) into town, which meant that it was beautifully quiet and peaceful. Or hostess, Marlicia, was so helpful, taking us to a local restaurant and collecting us. All the little touches meant a lot - a bottle of wine in the fridge, fresh coffee, fruit and homemade biscuits.
We also visited Paarl and Stellenbosh and felt that Franschoek was by far the most attractive of the “Wineland towns”; the Wine Tram is also recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall welcome
Liked least: All good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willows6
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean accommodation and lovely friendly people”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This small property is absolutely ideal for two people. Maid service is provided and this includes laundering and ironing of clothes. The property is secure and there is access to an outdoor pool where one can lounge in a very pleasant area. The garden is beautifully maintained. Nothing is too much trouble for Marlicia, the owner, who lives across the courtyard. Wireless internet is available but we found it to be intermittent. I think the owners are keen to get this sorted out. It is a 15-20 minute walk into town which we found to be ideal for shopping and an array of good restaurants. Our favourite was Le Bon Vivant which is slightly more expensive than others, but worth the difference. There are so many wine farms within a 20 minute drive that one is totally spoilt for choice. Many have restaurants most of which are very good. A super property for two and would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pleasant atmosphere and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: Intermittent internet access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thanks for taking the time to do the review. Just want to inform you that the wifi is perfect now. Some incorrect setting!
Best wishes, Louis & Marlicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Petit Plaisir Cottage for a night as we passed through Franschhoek. The cottage was great and one of the highlights of our trip. We were sad that we did not stay another night! The cottage was spacious, had a great bathroom, bed and clean kitchen. The hosts were warm and helpful.

Whilst not set on a wine farm, Petit Plaisir is perfect if you're looking to experience the little Franschhoek village being ideally located 3 blocks from the high street.

We will be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndylou1...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect little home from home”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Franschhoek is a truly beautiful place to visit with a great choice of restaurants and the unmissable Wine Tram (which is only about 15 mins from the cottage). I can't recommend this cottage highly enough. We only stayed for two nights and wish we'd booked to stay longer. The owner Marlicia couldn't be more helpful. The cottage is really cosy and comfortable with a beautiful bathroom which has an amazing shower as well as a bath. All the little touches have been thought of including fresh coffee and a cafetiere; olive oil, herbs spices etc in the cupboard; and even cling film and foil in the drawer. We were even given local wine and chocolate on arrival. Super place in a good location (10 mins walk from the village center). Don't hesitate to book it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of cottage and warm welcome
Liked least: Nothing. All was beyond expectations
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina_Crai...
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage & Wonderful Host”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a comfortable base within walking distance of the town during our short 3 days in Franschhoek. Wow, we got much more than that! The cottage is stunning! It was spotless, spacious and perfectly situated at the end of a residential area, looking up towards the mountains and an easy and safe 10 min stroll to one end of town - perfect distance to walk off all the delicious food we ate!
Marlicia couldn't have been more delightful, from the moment we arrived (unexpectedly early, which was no problem at all), showing us round the cottage and providing lots of treats, recommending restaurants, through to waving goodbye as if we were old friends. The garden is also something to mention - beautiful plants surround the cottage and down to the pool.
We left Petit Plaisir for one special anniversary night & dinner at Le Quartier Francais and can honestly say that if it wasn't for the guaranteed table in The Tasting Room, I would much prefer to stay in Petit Plaisir.
Please note that the wifi is bad across Franschhoek, so although very temperamental at Petit Plaisir, it was the same elsewhere.
We are already looking forward to returning for a longer stay next time!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing