We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing more”
Review of Dutch East Restaurant - CLOSED

Dutch East Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 18
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dutch East cuisine is a unique combination of uncomplicated bistro fare with healthy portions perfectly presented. Our menu blends modern steakhouse classics with a contemporary bistro style. We take inspiration from Cape Malay, eastern and traditional south African flavours
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Dutch East located on the main street has a very limited menu and if you are looking for a tasty salad this is not your place to eat.

Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchEast, General Manager at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear RolfH,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review based on your experience at our establishment.
However, I do find your feedback on the limited menu very surprising, we have a a La Carte as well as a 3-course set menu running which includes a avo, parmesan & rocket salad, garden side salad & a rare venison salad to choose from for a light salad option.
Please feel free to give us more feedback regarding your experience at Dutch East, kindly use our e-mail address info@dutcheast.co.za

Kind Regards
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

We had a nice dinner nice atmosphere .. nice wine .. carpaccio was one of best i ever had .!! Place to come back ..

Thank Ahmet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchEast, General Manager at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear AhmetK,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your visit!
We are very proud of our kitchen and front of house team for pulling of such high standards of food preparation and customer service. I'm so pleased to see that it reflected during your visit at Dutch East Restaurant.

Looking forward in welcoming you very soon!

Kind Regards
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Went there for lunch and, as in a lot of place in Franschhoek, the food was delicious, the wine was excellent and the service was spot on. Terrace a little crowded but great if you want to share and meet.

Thank negroni68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchEast, General Manager at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Negroni68,

We appreciate your feedback on tripadvisor based on your experience at Dutch East restaurant.
We strive towards exelent service, outstanding food and a great wine selection and I am glad to see that all of the mentioned above was reflecting during your visit.
We do take note of your constructive feedback about the crowded terrace area and will have a closer look into your concern.

See you soonest!

Kind Regards
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Delightful place friendly service we were not so hungry so we had 2 starters both delicious well presented and waiters still friendly and helpful. We will be back with a full appetite

Thank 1RichardBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchEast, General Manager at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear 1RichardBrighton,

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.
We are proud of our front of house and kitchen staff to maintain such high service & food presentation levels on a daily basis.
I will make sure to share your feedback with the team!
I hope to welcome you soonest to wine and dine you at Dutch East restaurant again.

Kind Regards
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We booked for New Years Eve dinner. What a lovely evening! The staff were friendly, went out of their way to make it enjoyable for patrons and even gave out party favours - bow ties, beads, hats etc to make the evening more festive. The service was fantastic and attentive. The set menu was a triumph. The Amuse Bouche started with 5 yummy mouthfuls - my favourite was the prawn in rice paper. The artichoke and truffle soup was amazing and to die for! The duck roulade somehow was the only disappointing dish, even though I really like duck. Our choice of 3 for the main course saw my husband ordering the beef and my daughter and I the fish and it was delicious. We ploughed through the dessert even though we were pretty full at this stage. A complimentary glass of bubbly rounded off the evening and everyone joined in the dancing. I would recommend that the restaurant consider the choice of music in future. It was very dated
and did not get everyone moving. Not every one likes music from only one era. But a wonderful evening nonetheless.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lovetravel090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchEast, General Manager at Dutch East Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Lovetravel090,

Thank you for your constructive and over-all positive feedback regarding your dining experience at Dutch East restaurant for your New Year's Eve dinner.
We take pride in our food and service standards and really value your feedback regarding the music choice on the night of your visit!
Thank you for your positive feedback on our set menu dishes for the evening, however we do take note of your feedback on the duck roulade. Please feel free to give more feedback to us by using our direct e-mail details. All feedback and constructive criticism is welcome. info@dutcheast.co.za
Hoping to welcome you next year for a New Year's Eve celebration again!

Kind Regards
Marisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutch East Restaurant also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Simondium, Franschhoek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;