We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch-very generous and fantastic value”

Haute Cabriere Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 92 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 2 - USD 3
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Franschhoek's iconic Haute Cabriere Restaurant is well known for its unique location, set into the side of Franschhoek Mountain and overlooking the Valley. Soaring arches and the view over the cathedral-like Pinot Noir Barrel Maturation Cellar below offer an experience which is not to be missed. On sunny days, guests can enjoy the beautiful vistas over Franschhoek from the terrace, while on cool days a roaring fire creates a cosy atmosphere. The menu revolves around classic technique with bold flavours with chefs Nic van Wyk and Westley Muller in the kitchen. The flavours and textures on the plate are specifically designed to complement the range of Haute Cabrière wines and Pierre Jourdan Méthode Cap Classiques - all of them served by the glass and by the bottle at cellar door prices. Bringing all of these elements together, Haute Cabrière offers the true marriage of food and wine.
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We were fortunate to get a good table inside with a view of the mountains, The set menu came with complimentary wine which was served in generous portions. Great location, facilities, food and service, look forward to going back.

Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabriereHaute, Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hello Alan,

Thanks so much for the feedback.

Hope to see you soon.

The Haute Cabrière Restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Seated next to an open fire place stoked with old vine branches, eating incredible food paired with the finest of Haute Cabriere wines for 6 courses ..sensational .... the end

Thank sharonkT5533OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabriereHaute, Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hello Sharon,

Thank you so much! The vine branches are from our own vines, we trying to use as much as we can to get the most out of our resources.

We hope to see you soon.

The Haute Cabrière Restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We had a Sunday lunch with family and friends. The menu was set but each course was very enjoyable with plenty of variety for all to share. The first course of soup was followed by a variety of vegetable dishes with an old fashioned Shepards Pie and a delightful pork roast. Dessert followed.
The drinks were included in the cost of the meal.
The service was helpful and pleasant.
As Australians we were quite amazed at the value for money this restaurant offered.
Both the food and the wines we chose were excellent. The setting of the restaurant is spectacular. We and our fellow guests thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant and I am sure our South African family and friends will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YvonneBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabriereHaute, Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hello Yvonne,

Thanks so much for this review. We always love to hear that guests experience us as we intend them to.

We hope to see you again.

The Haute Cabrière Restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We went for lunch with friends from Australia for a Sunday lunch and were very impressed.
It was advertised as a three course buffet but they brought all the food to the table and supplied their own wines at no extra cost
This made for a very relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere which I recommend highly

Thank Bob i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabriereHaute, Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hello Bob,

Thanks for the great feedback. We changed to our Sunday Feast in May, so still getting all the information out, but glad you experienced it as we intended. Generous feasting with great wines to match.

The Haute Cabrière Restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Just not on par with other restaurants in Franschoek. I had overcooked prawns with shop bought pasta and hubby got very rare steak with a juss that tasted like bisto. My starter could have been tinned soup poured over a supermarket potsticker. Maybe we were just expecting too much after the gourmet food we got at another fantastic restaurant the night before , but honestly it was bad even compared to your run of the mill steakhouse.

Thank Marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabriereHaute, Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Hello Marie,

We are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience.

We do take guests enjoying our food very seriously and when guests alert us to any problems we like to follow up on the night, and if there is fault with the dish, we do replace it. This also helps us identify if there is a problem with quality so we can rectify it.

We can assure you that our pasta is made on site.

Thank you for the review.

The Haute Cabriere Restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haute Cabriere Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing