We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Franschhoek Gem”
Review of Big Dog Cafe

Big Dog Cafe
Price range: USD 2 - USD 7
Description: Big Dog was established as a showcase for Terbodore Coffee. It was conceptualised along three pillars: coffee, food and design. Everything works together to bring the latest café experience to Franschhoek, with the focus being on excellent coffee and interesting menu options and specials, all set back in a laid-back café environment. Situated on the main road just before you reach Franschhoek, the café also has a coffee roastery beside it, where the intoxicating aromas of freshly roasted coffee beans can be appreciated. Michael and Alrishka Macaskill of Terbodore Coffee Roasters visited California, New York, Oregon and Washington in 2016 and soaked up the coffee and café scene over there, gaining inspiration along the way. Full of menu and design ideas, they came back and opened Big Dog. With a light and airy space with wood and exposed brick dominating, every area feels different.
Restaurant details
Description: Big Dog was established as a showcase for Terbodore Coffee. It was conceptualised along three pillars: coffee, food and design. Everything works together to bring the latest café experience to Franschhoek, with the focus being on excellent coffee and interesting menu options and specials, all set back in a laid-back café environment. Situated on the main road just before you reach Franschhoek, the café also has a coffee roastery beside it, where the intoxicating aromas of freshly roasted coffee beans can be appreciated. Michael and Alrishka Macaskill of Terbodore Coffee Roasters visited California, New York, Oregon and Washington in 2016 and soaked up the coffee and café scene over there, gaining inspiration along the way. Full of menu and design ideas, they came back and opened Big Dog. With a light and airy space with wood and exposed brick dominating, every area feels different.
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Since moving to the area, Big Dog Cafe has become my second home. Amazing coffee, great WiFi, superb food, and the best atmosphere. It truly is something special. Not to miss when visiting Franschhoek. It will make your heart smile! :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, Owner at Big Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you Kiara! We aim to please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

I came across this restaurant by accident after a Parkrun. I was happily surprised! This restaurant could rate amongst the best when it comes to healthy dishes. I had the Persian eggs with smoked aubergine puree, young summer vegetables, roasted cherry tomatoes and toasted sourdough, everything was fresh and very well prepared. If eating healthy is a priority then this is a good option

Thank elizabethb5182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, Owner at Big Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you Elizabeth! This is exactly what we're going for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We've been to the big dog cafe a few times now and love their coffee, plus they have brilliant merchandise. The surroundings are wonderful too. I bet in high season it's probably a good idea to book, if you'd like to have food there. I've had the most delicious Ramen there and their breakfasts come with sourdough bread, which is superb. You should definitely go there.

Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, Owner at Big Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you Alexandra. We appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Because of health reasons I currently can't consume alcohol. My only vice now is coffee... Thus always on the lookout for new coffee roasters to try. Big Dog Cafe sits on the outskirts of Franschhoek and roasts and sells Terbodore coffee.

We had a lovely, relaxed lunch on the stoep overlooking the garden.

The menu is small, but there is a great selection available. The drinks focus is obviously on the coffee. The Cold Brew Mojito was refreshing in the Franschhoek heat. For me the only disappointment was that coffee tastings have to be booked in advance.

Our food was very tasty, with banting and gluten-free options available. I enjoyed the Braised Moroccan Lamb Bun, while the Big Dog Burger and Big Dog Ramen also looked tasty.

Also available in the shop is a selection of coffee and coffee-paraphernalia. And the decor features some cool Dark Horse furniture. My kind of outing - good coffee, good food in a space that showcases great design. Well worth the visit!

Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, Owner at Big Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review Jacqueline. You have made our day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We have known this coffee since it was "little" and it has reminded consistently excellent. The BIG DOG cafe will defo make your heart beat faster. Our favorite place in the winelands. Tina, Neil and Coco.

Thank OutandEating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, Owner at Big Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your kind words and support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Dog Cafe also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Big Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing