We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
85
69
13
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
69
13
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pear orchard communal kitchen mary and mark serene spot quiet place to stay small river birds chirping surrounded by nature minute walk to the main street wine tram small room enjoyed our stay great weekend little gem franschhoek town one night stay close to town
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

One of the few budget stays in Franschoek. Love the courtyard, which is huge with many pear trees. Rooms are quite basic- small, but clean. There's also a kitchen and common are, where you can make dinner or just relax. Nice place, close to many wineries and about 15 minute walk to the main street. Recommended!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaneTeesalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Such excitement when booking, we where so eager to get back after incredible memories from December 2010. We all remembered the perfect quiet, beautiful setting, serene spot.
Incredible welcome from Mark & Mary, small but spotless clean rooms, basic but perfect for two nights.

What a disappointment no one to welcome us instead we found the communal area filthy.
No drying clothes - went out and bought our own.
Dirty bathroom mat
Chair & tables outside could do with some TLC
No spoons after asking we eventually received some on day 2.
Sheets on our bed where dirty.
My cousins toilets was bubbling up in her shower. We reported it but no one came to repair or investigate.

Some family left a day early to find accommodation elsewhere . We headed to the other side of the mountain.

Sad to see a little Gem so neglected

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Dreamer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottersbendlodgefrans, Owner at Otter's Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

We are also most disappointed that this was your experience.
We regret that we did not hear of your problems while you were here so we have followed up with staff. Unfortunately, our staff were not able to recall which group had reported any of your complaints. Our interaction with the family groups that have stayed here in recent weeks has been positive so we have personally not been made aware of the list above. We have not been aware of anyone leaving early because of discontent with the accommodation.
However, your complaint has highlighted the need for all of us to be hypervigilant at keeping our standards high as well as the need to communicate any complaints and queries, should the need arise.
Mark and Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

It just may happen – Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn pop out.

To remember you the through luxuries of life.

To remember you of the simplicity you once knew.

To remember you of silence, softly braiding your mornings with birds.

To remember you of silence, softly braiding your evenings with stars.

To remember you of what really matters.

To remember you of the world – Once upon a time.

So - travel through time and step on the playground of Otters Bend Lodge. Tom and Huck would love to meet some new imaginary friends to play with.

Harry and Katja – we:

- were (t)here

- we have played

- we highly recommend

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottersbendlodgefrans, Owner at Otter's Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Wow, Harry and Katja - Thank YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We experienced a very warm welcome by Mark on our arrival. The place is beautiful and surrounded by nature. His property is very green and covered in pear trees. The dorms are spacious and comfortable. We ate pizza’s from his home made pizza-oven and drank wins by the campfire. There’s a big space to cook and play games at. Mark and his wife are really nice company and can tell you lots about the surroundings. We would really recommend this place to anyone!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mettev2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottersbendlodgefrans, Owner at Otter's Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Ah, thanks! Was great to meet you so hope you will return one day. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

My husband and I spent 1 night at the Otter's Bend Lodge on our honeymoon. We absolutely loved the cabins and wish we had allotted more time to spend there! The cabins are simple and have everything you need, plus stunning views of the forest. We walked to numerous wineries and restaurants from Otters Bend... it was great not worrying about having a car. I would highly recommend Otters Bend!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kaylee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottersbendlodgefrans, Owner at Otter's Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review and comment, Kaylee. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate that you have pointed out how easy it is to walk to different wineries and restaurants - the joy of being so close to the village but still in a rural setting :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews