We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
79
64
12
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
64
12
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspear orchardcommunal kitchendouble decker busbig treesserene spotquiet place to staysmall riverwine tramminute walk to the main streetsmall roomenjoyed our stayrooms are greatmont rochellesurrounded by mountainsone night staywine farmlittle gem
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017

The little cabins are with a good bed. All you need. Beautiful setting. People very welcoming. Community garden, linked to biosphere reserve. Environmental and social friendly. Possibility to camp. Internet works fine. If you not looking for a fancy classical hotel and like outdoor experience to recommend. I will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patriciamM4886TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Otter's Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Hi
Thanks so much for comment Patricia,
You have described exactly what our aim is, to be simply very comfortable, affordable, relaxed and eco friendly, where people meet and build friendships.
We really look forward to your next visit.

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Very nice & cosy place. Especially the garden is very beautiful.
However, the kitchen and bathrooms need some more care.
Considering the price, its location and the general atmosphere, it is still recommendable.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spielraum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottersbendlodgefrans, Owner at Otter's Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments. We are aware of the need to pay attention to the kitchen and bathrooms - they are on our 'soon-to-do list'. We would like to invite you to send us a mail with suggestions of what you feel would improve these facilities and therefore give our guests an even better experience. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We are travelling around South Africa using a mix of cheap backpackers accommodation and nicer luxury hotels. We therefore set our expectations appropriately for a night that cost £32 at the current exchange rate. Otter's Bend is basic, but at the price we were really happy.

The room was small but clean and did the job for our one night stay. Lovely helpful staff and just 15 mins walk into town. We spent our money on wine (purchased during tastings via the Wine Tram - a must do!) and food (at Ryan's) so were quite happy to spend less on accommodation for this one night stay.

The only thing I could fault for the price is the thin walls, meaning you can hear muffled voices from other rooms, but it didn't keep us up at night. We had a great sleep and woke to the sound of birds chirping.

Franschhoek is a beautiful place so if you don't want to spend too much money on your accommodation and are happy with a basic lodge for the night, then try Otter's Bend. The short walk into town makes it convenient for everything and although we felt perfectly safe walking back at night, we chose to get a taxi as we were tired. It was R100 from Ryan's Kitchen to Otter's Bend.

We can't comment on the communal facilities as we didn't use them.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dzy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I really enjoyed this place, it was clean, comfortable and had all the additionals you could need for a trip into the winelands. The bed was very comfortable as well. The only issue was not being able to settle the difference in cost with a card, but that was mentioned before arrival so it wasn't a major issue, just a nice to have.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ScottOrtlepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottersbendlodgefrans, Owner at Otter's Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to send your positive comments, Scott. We were glad that you enjoyed our place as well as your trip into the Winelands. We've noted your 'nice to have'.
Hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Good points
- Low cost
- Good shower
- Comfy bed
- Clean room
- Really pretty setting
- Good location only short walk to the main street

Bad points
- Communal areas were very unclean
- Very small room (however note: low cost)
- Poor security - We were awoken in the night (about 2am) trying to get into our room!
- Difficult to sleep with the noise of things hitting the corrugated roofing

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xseahorsex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottersbendlodgefrans, Owner at Otter's Bend Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thanks - we appreciate the points that you have made in your review. We're very happy that you found good points and enjoyed our setting and location. We have noted the points which you felt were 'bad'. ( We had been made aware of a guest who had lost their way after a wedding). It is definitely time to trim the branches and get rid of excess seedpods - thanks for pointing that out. We hope to see you again when next you visit Franschhoek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews