We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dinner in Franschhoek”

Reuben's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #12 of 92 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: USD 10 - USD 20
Description: Twelve years of history, moments and memories, in one brand new location. Welcome to the restaurant home of South African chef Reuben Riffel!
Restaurant details
Description: Twelve years of history, moments and memories, in one brand new location. Welcome to the restaurant home of South African chef Reuben Riffel!
Reviewed 11 December 2017

After scrutinizing as many places as we could ahead of time, my wife and I (a couple devoted foodies) had dinner at Reuben's in December 2017. We we SO not disappointed.

The space is beautiful -- modern, a little funky, but comfortable.
Out waitron was super.
But the food is the star! No regrets with Chilli salter squid and Tuna tatami starters, Pork belly and Roasted fish mains, great wine, and a Chocolate fondant dessert.

There are lots (!) of great food options in/around Franschhoek; Reuben's was great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ob3ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstridCadle, Front Office Manager at Reuben's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for the lovely review @Ob3ron.

I am glad that your dining experience here at Reuben's was great & that you enjoyed the ambiance as well as the service.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Wonderful meal in a great well appointed building made extra special by Imran, the waiter, who was both well informed, professional and witty.

    • Food
Thank alternate-invest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstridCadle, Front Office Manager at Reuben's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you @alternate-invest for taking the time to review us.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful meal and are so pleased Imran took excellent care of you. We will be sure to mention this lovely review to him.

Kindest regards and hope to see you again soon!

Astrid Cadle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Arrived about 7.45 pm on a Sunday and settled into lovely new premises. We had eaten at Reuben's before. Orders taken, wine served then a wait of an hour before, after several enquiries we were told they had run out of mussels which were needed for one starter and one main. They had sent to their supplier for more (on Sunday evening?). About 15 minutes later the starter arrived and it was good. By this time we needed a second bottle of wine but it appeared we had drunk the only bottle of that particular Chenin Blanc. At 9.45 the mains arrived. For some of the party all they had in the two hours was bread. The food was excellent. Shame about the largely unexplained delay. The app won't let me rate service, food and value but I would say 2 star service, 4+ starts food and 4 star service.

Thank iddunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Wow what an awesome b-day dinner at Reuben's! The most most amazing flavor in the food! We were treated like Kings and Queens and were so blessed to have Reuben in the kitchen that evening!! On request he came out after dinner and had n pleasant chat with us! We will see you soon...definitely our favourite restaurant and even better now at the new spot!

Thank Sanet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstridCadle, Front Office Manager at Reuben's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you @Sanet79 for taking the time to review us.

We appreciate all the kind words and are so glad you had a wonderful birthday as well as a great dining experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again :)

Kind regards

Astrid Cadle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

They have now moved the restaurant to new localities and they are even better than before . The food was fantastic and the service as well . Just try IT !

Thank KalleBorgholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstridCadle, Front Office Manager at Reuben's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you @KalleBorgholm for taking the time to review us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself and we enjoyed having you here.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Astrid Cadle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reuben's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Reuben's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing