We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Visited this hotel for a quick overnight while on a business trip. It is located right off I-287 with easy access. The staff was helpful and polite, my room and bed were comfortable and clean. It looked like my the room had recently been updated as most every looked fairly new. The bathroom had new tiles and counter tops, the lighting in the bathroom could have been a little brighter but it wasn't bad. The WIFI worked well, letting me get caught up on some office work. I didn't have time to stop for breakfast in the morning but the breakfast room had a pretty good crowd in there when I went by on my way to checking out.

I was awakened by some rumbling early in the morning and I thought it might be a truck starting up, but when I looked out the window it was a lightening storm. Oh well, the rain is desperately needed in this area so thank goodness for the rain. This is a pretty central place to stay but if you have to travel I-287 during rush hour be prepared for very heavy traffic.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are in the midst of a total hotel room renovation and nice to hear you enjoy the new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    54
    27
    15
    10
See reviews for
46
19
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Standard Holiday Inn really with the worst point being the trucks in the parking lot right under the bedroom windows starting up at 2AM and 6AM complete with reversing bleepers, the full works, it's a big parking lot, park them out front, please. Having said that, the beds were comfortable and a fair night's sleep was had. The quality of breakfast and the gentleman in charge of breakfast were outstanding given the class of hotel and prevented this being a 2 star review. Move them trucks and it would be a 4 star.

Room Tip: Look where the trucks are parked, keep away from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metroburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write a review. It is only thru posiive or otherwise feedback that we can continue to fully understand our guests needs.

I will be sure to advise our Kitchen staff that they provided excellent service at Breakast.

As for the trucks, it's true, we do receive alot of truck traffic due to the proximity of I287 and the fact they can drive the whole way around the builidng with alot of lighting in the parking lot for the trucks, which makes it very safe for the drivers. But I can certainly understand being woke up at 2AM by the roar of a diesel engine isn't fun for anyone! Should you stay again, feel free to request a room on the "Verizon Wireless" side of the building. That should keep you away from the truck traffic. Sorry for the inconvenience this past trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Location is good, close by to many food eateries and even shopping. Ruby Tuesday is just next door, while the breakfast served in the hotel is quite good, especially the orange juice. Room looked old, but still not too bad.

Room Tip: Get a room nearer to the lift, quite a distance to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mseera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Nice holiday Inn, Quiet location. Excellent service at the free breakfast. Good selection of local restaurants only a short distance away and not too busy.

Good hotel, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMAllen42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toms river
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I've been staying at this Holiday Inn for the last 9 years when visiting relatives in the area. Alot of remodeling has been going on and most of it is for the the better. Pluses- the new shower heads are wonderful!!!! The room looked like it was recently redone- new paint, new carpets, new wallpaper and tiles in bathroom. Temperpedic bed- OMG, it was like sleeping on clouds!!!Probably the best sleep I've had in a long time! Mini-fridge and microwave also a big plus. The indoor pool was actually heated- and had a wonderful swim- almost an hour in the pool!!!
Minuses- the room had no pictures on the walls, no headboard and no decrotive curtains-you could see where the decrotive curtains were hung and cut down- just blackout curtains. But maybe they didn't get around to finishing decorating yet.. Not enough outlets in room- had to charge the cell phone in the bathroom. The toilet wouldn't flush completely- found out I had to hold the handle down for about 15 seconds...... I'm one of those people who like hotels where the windows open, that's why this was my go to hotel- the windows actually open. Untill this visit, to find the window screwed closed. I asked to be moved to the first floor, to a room that has a sliding glass door. To find a room with a window screwed shut! WTF? The internet conection is free, but every once in a while it would kick me off- seemingly at the most inoppertune times......I know these are little things to complain about, but they do add up.....I'll wait a while to visit this hotel again, and maybe they'll get the little things right again.

Room Tip: If you enjoy fresh air in the room, ask for 1st floor room with sliding glass door, If not , all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your understanding and patience as we are embarking on the complete renovation of all hotel rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Plainfield
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel
Best Western The Garden Executiv...
#3 of 5 in South Plainfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
6.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
2.5 km away
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
4.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#6 of 15 in Edison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway

Property: Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Address: 4701 Stelton Rd, South Plainfield, NJ 07080-1105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > South Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Plainfield
Price range (per night): $154 - $237
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unparalleled blend of comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn of South Plainfield, NJ, ideally situated near exit 10 of the NJ Turnpike. Among our wide array of first-class amenities we feature a game room, fitness center and heated indoor pool with a sauna and outdoor sundeck your oasis from the stress and strain of travel. We pride ourselves on offering every guest attentive service with a personal touch to complement our spacious, attractive accommodations. Relax and revive in our newly upgraded bathrooms, which include an expanded shower area with a multi-function shower head, lush terrycloth towels and bath products by Garden Botanika . When it's time for work, you'll be pleased to find generous work desks, complimentary WiFi in all of our guest rooms and throughout the hotel, a 24-hour business center and professional catering services for meetings and special events of any scale. We also invite you to treat yourself to a stay in one of our executive suites. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway Hotel South Plainfield
South Plainfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing