We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel and great location if you don't want to stay downtown Manhattan.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great location if you don't want to stay downtown Manhattan.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Overall nice hotel. Has a lot of shops and restaurants right behind it to walk to. There is a NJ bus that picks you up right near the hotel and will take you to Times Square for 7.90 round trip! Minor issues are no hot water in morning sometimes.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason9549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    139
    42
    24
    20
See reviews for
94
54
22
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I was there in Holiday Inn in Oct 3rd week this ytear on a 3 day visit and was completely thrilled to be in this hotel for its vicinity to the shopping area with the best of retailers around, a shuttle to take you shop and , best of all, a bus to take you to the Times Square right upto 1 am in the night in 15 minutes flat. Loved the courteous staff and the clean rooms, with no nuisance at all. Would love to stay again there!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishshukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Bottom line: I am a platinum member of this hotel's frequent-stay program, and I would not likely stay at this hotel again. I wish I had seen some of these reviews before I booked my stay at this hotel.

The price was reasonable, but not spectacular; I paid a little extra for a "deluxe" room. The room was VERY clean and well maintained - not a speck of mildew in the bathroom. There was no phone on the desk, only on the nightstand. The air conditioner was very loud, but otherwise did its job well. The room was not insulated from hallway noise. The matress on one of the two beds sagged and should probably have been replaced long ago. There was no safe in the room in which to secure valuables. The free "high-speed" internet connection was not high-speed by modern standards, but was fine for checking e-mail, etc. The fitness center is likely the nicest I've ever seen for that size/class of hotel.

The hotel staff ranged from rudely stand-offish, to proactively and genuinely helpful; your proverbial Forrest Gump's box of chocolates. My check-in experience was bad enough that the first thing I did when I got to my room was see if there were rooms available at other nearby hotels; had I been able to find a room elsewhere, I would have checked out after that first night. Later that evening, I waited 40 minutes for a hotel shuttle which never came; one very helpful employee finally took note of how long I'd been waiting and proactively said he would call a car for me, but by that point I was so fed up I just secured my own transportation. To be fair, that same helpful employee also went the extra mile for me getting me a toiletry item which I had forgotten and that they were out of at the front desk. So, the staff is not entirely bad, but it's really hit-or-miss as to what you get, and the "snooty" ones (as another reviewer very aptly described them) are downright infuriating.

Parking as described in the hotel's overview doesn't tell the full story. $13/day for optional valet parking...the valet parks your car very close to the hotel in an adjacent garage. The valet parking sign explicitly states that the management does not assume any responsibility for your vehicle or its contents, which did not inspire me to hand over my car keys. Free parking is on the top floor (exposed to the weather) of a 3-floor garage connected to another hotel which puts you 1-2 blocks away, depending on where in the garage you park. There was no sign explaining how to get in to that garage as a Holiday Inn guest, until the actual entrance, which is behind the Hyatt across the street, not visible from the Holiday Inn. I did not find any way to get from the free parking to the hotel that was fully covered or any convenient way that did not require at least two flights of stairs; some that were enclosed for at least part of the way required additional stairs, so if it's raining, or if you have heavy rolling luggage, best of luck to you unless you're willing to turn your car and/or your luggage over to their staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel with a travel group from Germany - American Ring Travel. I just would like to express a great thanks to all of the staff I worked with - front desk, the lovely guys setting up our group breakfast, the chef himself, etc. Everyone was extremly accommodating, pleasant, and helpful. We all felt very much home, loved the rooms and all the amenities. We also appreciated the easy way to get to Manhattan, the restaurants and shops around the hotel, and so much more.. I look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldevil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

booked a room with 2 Double beds, rooms are fine, standard HI arrangment, microwave was nice touch and large fridge

Hotel is very close to Penn Station ( 8 minute train at USD 4 ) free shuttle to secaucus junction station but not between 4pm and 715pm

We got an extended check out at 2pm, the shuttle gladly takes you to the shopping malls and outlet centres, and is quick when you call for him to pick you up, 15 mins max.
kids eat free

We arrived 430pm, called for the shuttle to be told he doesnt come 4pm to 715pm so had to get a cab, who charged $15 for a 1.5 mile journey, for the first time in my life I never tipped the driver as he clearly overcharged, and he acted indignantly in that new york way

With kids eat free, the first girl said it was "only breakfast" when I challenged her that kids eat free is all meals at HI, she said no it definitely wasnt, I got back to the room, checked the coupon and it said eating any time.

This is a nice hotel, good value, close to Manhattan but 40% of the Manhattan price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drspear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.3 km away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#1 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands

Property: Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Address: 300 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#5 Business Hotel in Secaucus
Price range (per night): $162 - $338
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four miles from Times Square and in the heart of The Plaza at Harmon Meadow, the Holiday Inn(R) Secaucus Meadowlands hotel's staff delivers an unrivaled level of convenience and service. You'll love being within walking distance to the shops and the 28 dining establishments in The Plaza, adjacent to our hotel's location near NYC. The wonders of New York City, Manhattan, Time Square and The Meadowlands Sports Complex are just a short NJ Transit bus ride from the hotel's location. Enjoy PRESS Coffee bar located in the hotel lobby serving all your Starbuck favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing