We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute beach trip 2017”
Review of Sunrise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Motel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Let me start off by saying the gentleman that owns this place was such a blessing to meet and made the rest of our minivacation absolutely wonderful!!! Our mini beach getaway started out as a nightmare in a hotel right down the street... The Seagarden motel which was absolutely horrible!!! Needless to say, the next morning my girlfriend, our 5 kids and I went hunting for another hotel when we stumbled across Sunrise motel right down the block. We walked in and the gentleman at the front desk (the owner) greeted us with a smile and made the rest of our trip wonderful for us and our children!!! We stayed in room #502 which had a living room, kitchen with full-size refrigerator & stove and a nice huge bedroom with two queen beds and a flat screen TV on the wall so the girls could watch TV in their room while the adults got to watch TV in the living room. We were given two free beach passes, free breakfast at a choice of three different restaurants for all seven of us every morning (with no time limit on when you could grab your breakfast), and a couple free mini golf passes. The bathroom was a nice size, the entire place was CLEAN, the water pressure was amazing for our showers, the pool was wonderful & clean and the staff was so helpful & kind... all this together made our stay for the last few days absolutely wonderful for us & our children. Two mom's trying to plan a quick impromptu mini getaway for the kids before they go back to school started out as a nightmare and ended with nothing but smiles thanks to Sunrise motel & the staff :) we can't thank you enough!!! They are also in a perfect location… One block from the beach and boardwalk, a block from the Spirit store where you can find all kinds of adult beverages of your liking whether you're a wine or beer person, the best bagel & sandwich deli (open early & stays open late) with awesome staff and tons of choices with outdoor seating right across the street. We also enjoyed an amazing restaurant with reasonable prices & great food & outdoor seating right across the street that had a really awesome tropical feel with live music that we all loved. So if you want something that has the absolute perfect location, clean and reasonably priced with great staff and friendly faces this is definitely a spot to check out!!! thank you so much to the owner of Sunrise motel :) The best thing was we didn't have to get in our car once to go anywhere, everything was in walking distance :)
L&K and our 5 kids... god bless

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 5 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017

1st time in the heights all places are old. Our room was a queen deluxe which was a stretch. It was clean but worn needed updating, the mattress was like a ROCK!!! Staff friendly and very helpful coupons for breakfast's tight parking but it worked...Pool was nice not far from boards and beach. Pull out bed needed to be cleaned the couch part of it felt dirty..Maid service every day ok for a couple of days but for the week try to find a 4 or 5 star...

Stayed: August 2017
Thank island-man1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

I had reviewed Sunrise Motel a few years back and gave it a great review. Unfortunately, I feel obligated and I have to change that now after our most recent stay. The staff was friendly and nice...BUT I don't know what happened, it was NOT clean, I was very disappointed and surprised. The room we stayed in was definitely not clean, some things were falling apart. There was a disgusting lamp shade that was so dirty I couldn't believe that someone wouldn't throw it in the garbage and just buy a new one. The cover on the box spring had all kinds of gross stains on it. There was a stain on the wall that I cleaned with Lysol wipes and it came right off. We cleaned and sanitized everything and just stayed even though we felt uncomfortable. Sadly, we will not be risking it and returning there ever again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank blackrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Well I'm not going to be all negative. So I'll start by saying the staff was friendly on a Jersey scale. Our room had a new shower and fixtures with good pressure. They give free beach passes (2) and coupons for lite breakfast off site. Pool looked nice but small, we didn't go in.
Now the negative. To call this room a suite is a stretch (King Room) had a mini refrigerator, microwave, small table with two chairs (pic) and a pull out bed couch that I wouldn't advise sitting on. The new shower from above is maybe 4 ft very small not enough room for two. The mirror (3'x4') was about to fall off the wall, only had one bracket on the bottom holding it up and leaning against the wall. Room had water damage and mold by door (pic). Floor was dirty and not swept or vacuumed the hole time (4 days). Bed was made by six year old, at least that's what it looked like. There's not enough parking on site, two nights we had to park in a overflow lot the next block over.
I see they have good reviews but our visit here was very disappointing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tbuck840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Our room was double booked, provided an upgrade without hesitation. Clean room, good amenities. Only issue was insufficient parking, which forced us to park our vehicle 2 blocks away. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Suites on main drag, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Heights
0.4 km away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
215 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#17 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.4 km away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#4 of 39 in Seaside Heights
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#8 of 39 in Seaside Heights
60 reviews
0 km away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#5 of 39 in Seaside Heights
100 reviews
0.7 km away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#13 of 39 in Seaside Heights
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motel

Address: 202 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2506
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside Heights
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range: $88 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunrise Motel in Seaside Heights is owned and operated by the Loundy family, who have been welcoming vacationers to the Jersey Shore since 1932. The motel features efficiency suites and luxury suites, accommodating couples and families up to 6 people per room! Our efficiency suites have 2 double beds, a sofa-bed or futon, and a kitchenette. Our luxury suites have 2 queen beds, a full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi tub, and living room with sofa-bed or futon. We are located less than a block from the boardwalk for easy access to the beach, rides, games, and amusements. Our property features a beautiful pool, expansive 150 foot sundeck, free WI-FI, free parking, BBQ grills, and cable TV in each room. All of our rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is permitted in all outdoor areas. During the summer season we also include 2 free badges with each room and free breakfast each morning at a choice of two local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Seaside Heights
Sunrise Motel Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing