We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Franklin Terrace Motel
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We arrived early and were allowed to check in and get settled. The room was clean and quaint. I was happy there was a microwave and refrigerator. We loved the pool and the employees were more than accommodating. Extra and fresh towels when we needed them, beach passes and a parking pass along with walking distance to and from the boardwalk helped make our first family vacation more enjoyable! Would definitely stay again and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank_TM, Guest Relations Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Franklin Terrace Motel. Thank you again for this excellent review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our convenient location near many Jersey Shore hot spots. We strive to bring clean affordable accommodation to each and every one of our guests. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2015

The room is clean and sort of adequate. It is good for the economy of Seaside Hts. because there is no where to sit except on the beds. So you cant spend time in your room. Be aware there are no cooking utensils in the room although there is a microwave, fridge, sink, and cooktop. Staff is very nice. Bathroom is miniscule and there were a few ants crawling around. For a last minute stay it was okay we had fun. Not particularly a good value.

Room Tip: Room 14 has no chairs or tables. But THREE beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gellmanj40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank_TM, Guest Relations Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Franklin Terrace Motel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Because this is a motel, I knew not to expect for this place to be amazing; however, this place was a lot better than I thought it would be. It was clean and it wasn't to far from the boardwalk. If you are a young person that likes to party, then you would love it here because it is right across the street from two clubs. If you want peace and quiet then this is not the place for you.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Franklin Terrace Motel. Thank you again for this excellent review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you enjoyed our convenient location near many Jersey Shore hot spots. We strive to bring clean affordable accommodation to each and every one of our guests. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Frank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

I'm writing this review because my stay with the Franklin Terrace Motel was probably the worst motel experience I've ever had in my life. I want to warn others because I don't think anyone deserves to be treated the way I was treated. Let me first start off by saying that I am a responsible 23 year old college grad who was spending the weekend with her friends at the shore. I am not some irresponsible teenager getting wasted and causing a ruckus, and gave no reason for these people to think I was. I was disrespected and taken advantage of right from the start because of my age, which is sickening.

It's funny to me that there are reviews that customer service is 'KING' because every male that worked here was rude and disrespectful towards myself and my guests. Our entire stay these people made up their own rules that they did not explain at check in. You'd think a serious motel would explain the rules right when you get there, which made me suspicious and think we were getting scammed. They were also very unorganized and you could tell, because they'd be 'serious' about these rules but then let it go when we spoke up, which made me think they were just trying to get more money out of us.

The first thing they had us do was to have our guests write their names and ages down on a piece of paper because you cannot be under 21 in a room, which I get. However, they only checked one persons ID who signed the paper, which I thought was strange. They then informed us that they have a policy for $15 a night per guest so of course we abided by that. However, when my guests went to pay and asked for a receipt, and they said "Don't worry about it, trust us!". No joke. That is what they said. I said "no, we demand a receipt, that is how we know it is on our records and we aren't getting scammed." The next day, one of my friends had to leave and they got angry with us for having a guest leaving. This was the first example of the motel making up their own 'rules' without informing us of them at check in. The next day, they were rude to us again because they said our guests who were staying for one night were supposed to have left already. Again, they never informed us of this 'rule' at the very start, so of course I was angry about that. I got in a literal screaming fight with one of the males who worked there and he actually told me I was too 'young' too understand. Every conversation I had with a male worker there was rude, disrespectful, and irrational. They did not care what I had to say and I was their CUSTOMER. This motel is the perfect description of how NOT to treat your guests.

Overall, this place I feel disrespects young adults. I have never felt so insulted in my life. They make their own rules, tried to scam us for different reasons to make more money, and disrespected myself and my guests to the extreme. Not to mention, we had to ASK for towels and toilet paper. The wifi did not work that well either. The ONLY benefits I can say about this motel is that it is close to the beach and the night life. Other than that, I strongly suggest you do not stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank annaI3359IP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franklinmotel, Guest Relations Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that our motel was not sufficient in regards to what you were looking for in a motel.

Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to learn that you feel I fell short of our goals in this instance. I appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your concerns.

We do have price policies publicly available on all the websites and also on confirmation letter. We do charge $15 extra per person per night. So if you had any confusion regarding the price policy, then you should have just asked for price for seven people instead three people that you had your original reservation is for. We do also had room service everyday between 10am-1pm on the motel premises but since you had all those extra people inside the room you decided not to open the door to take the room service for any day of your entire stay, then you will not received any towels etc.

Please know that I value you as our guest and would like all our guests to see us at our very best to this end. To all our future guests please don't be discouraged by this negative review. We are here to provide safe, clean and memorable stay for all our guests. We have many repeat guests who have enjoyed our services and have returned year after year.

Sincerely,
Frank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

It's hard to find a great hotel in Seaside because so many are tiny, dirty, and super expensive. This one is a block from the boardwalk, the rooms are a good size, and they clean every day. We stayed in this hotel twice. The first time the floors were dirty, but everything else was clean. The second time everything was clean. Staff is very pleasant. Any other town I'd say this was overpriced, but for Seaside it's a good deal. You get beach passes and parking as part of the price and everything is walking distance.

Room Tip: Top floors might have a view of the ocean. Bottom floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emma9887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franklinmotel, Guest Relations Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip with us and for sharing your experience. We're so pleased to that you enjoyed our convenient location and comfortable accommodations. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to hosting your stay again when you comeback to Seaside Heights.

Sincerely,
Frank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Heights
9.1 km away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
0.3 km away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#13 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.4 km away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#9 of 39 in Seaside Heights
60 reviews
0.5 km away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#4 of 39 in Seaside Heights
93 reviews
2 km away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Terrace Motel

Address: 50 Franklin Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2528
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range: $83 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Franklin Terrace Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a short walking distance to all of the fine amusements, attractions and the wonderful Seaside Heights Beach and Boardwalk! At the Franklin Terrace Motel, we offer a friendly, clean family hotel where the Management is on-site to ensure that your stay is the most enjoyable it can be. The Franklin Terrace Motel.... a peaceful, fun place to vacation...spend a night, a weekend, a month or all season...you will remember our hospitality. With a lovely lobby and private pool, the Franklin Terrace is the best value on the Jersey Shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Franklin Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Terrace Hotel Seaside Heights
Franklin Terrace Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing