We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Indian Cuisine at Reasonable Price”
Review of Mantra

Mantra
Reserve with OpenTable
Mantra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 166 Restaurants in Paramus
Price range: USD 20 - USD 35
Cuisines: French, Indian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Mantra Restaurant is a premier destination spot for modern Indian cuisine. We cater to pallets of individuals who are accustomed to Indian cuisine as well as those who want to indulge and enjoy the nuevo, rich and exciting flavors that Indian food has to offer. The relaxed lounge atmosphere is a perfect venue to meet socially or professionally. The dining area offers the ideal setting to enjoy meals with friends and family. We take pride in preparing food with the highest quality ingredients and our chefs turn out delicious and suckling choices. Dining out at Mantra offers a true fine dining experience for everyone. Besides our premier location in Paramus, we now have a second location open in downtown Jersey City (Exchange Place). Come visit and devour the excellence and judge for yourself. This is our “Mantra”.
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We ordered delivery on four different occasions. The food was nice and tasty. However, the quality of naan could be improved.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Maxibon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

We were looking to host a lunch event and visited many Indian restaurants in the vicinity. Mantra definitely stood out among them in all aspects, just a fantastic-positive experience from beginning to end. From the word go Sam (the manager) was very friendly, helpful and flexible for our event. Overall our event was a great success, we had 75+ people on the day, food was delicious and service was awesome. The décor is very classy. If you are hosting a party, I would recommend getting a good photographer as taking pictures here is a little tricky as there is lot of natural light coming from one side and the other side has mirrors resulting in reflection. Without a seasoned photographer, your photos may not turn out well.

We’ve had lunch buffet a few times at Mantra during the weekends. We found that the food was delicious and the buffet was priced nominally (around $13 per head). The buffet usually has 3 appetizers, 2-3 veg entrée, 1 chicken entrée and 1 goat/lamb entrée along with 2 desserts. If you’re eating a la carte, I would definitely recommend the following dishes:-
Apetizers: Dahi ke Kababs and Hyderabadi Angarey (Chicken)
Main: Andhra Gosht (Mutton), Dikhush Koftey
These dishes are their specialty and very unique in flavor. Sometimes they have one or more of the above in the buffet.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prasenjeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were very happy with our experience- great ambiance, great food and great service...would definitely recommend this restaurant, and will definitely be back soon!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carollyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

food was good . starters excellent. ambience vey nice service good. staff very polite and courteous . would surely recommend this place which has such a lovely soothing decor and lovely place.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dipikapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We love Indian restaurants, the safe haven for the vegetarians. Mantra distinguished itself far apart from the other Indian restaurants. It is a strong player among upscale restaurants in NJ/NYC area.

An elegant dining area, soft jazz in the background, excellent service, and modern Indian cuisine. Yes, it is somehow different from the food we have eaten in India, which most of the time was simpler. Mantra’s food is still full of Indian flavors, plus elegant presentation … what else do you need to enjoy?

The dinner started with the complementary “shot” of tomato-peach (?) soup (excellent!!!). plus mint chatney & tamarind sauce.

We ordered “today’s special” Paneer Lababdar ($16.00) - paneer cubes marinated in an aromatic spicy gravy – delicious!

Then we also had Baingan Jalfrezi ($ 15.95) - baby eggplant cooked with onions, peppers & spiced with ginger, cumin & garlic – very good, and relatively generous portion size.

Our friend ordered Mushroom Methi Malai ($ 15.95) -
mushrooms cooked in rich cashew sauce with fenugreek ginger & garlic; and he liked it.

Masala chai was OK. The herbal teas – Mantra has a great selection that is fashionably presented in the wooded box; it takes some time to make a decision on a flavor.

And the Kulfi Trio (Indian style homemade ice cream in pistachio, vanilla & mango) was so good!

The spiciness level can be adjusted per your request; please note that our “medium” was not spicy at all.

It is a wonderful upscale restaurant and prices are higher than in the more simple Indian restaurants. In return, we had a unique experience, a nice reminder of our travel in India. And we already are planning another visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EarlyRetirementAbroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mantra also viewed

 

Been to Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing