We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Mahhattan.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson North Bergen
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I chose only for sleep , shower and take the bus at $3 to Manhattan in 30 minutes.
WI-FI not secure enough. My cable TV in Central America is clearer than in this hotel. One kudos though, my dad left his cellphone at the room, when I call back, they were aware of it and kept until we picked it up.

Room Tip: Please choose any other hotel around same area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariluCarvallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were in town for a Tony Robbins seminar at the Meadowlands, so luckily we only had to be here for a few hours per night for sleep. Upon arrival, we were given a room on the backside of the building where the reception desk is. The door has a clearly marked "no smoking" emblem on the outside, but once we stepped inside the room smelled the the bottom of an old wet ash tray. I immediately went back to reception and the clerk, Habib, gave me a new room. It was in the building to the rear, which is accessed by a hill so steep you almost need a rope and pulley to walk up and down. Steep enough when you drive it you should put your hands up in the air and scream... like riding a roller coaster. The noise outside at night is TERRIBLE, and you can hear everything from one room to another. The mattress is the only thing on the good list for this hotel.

For those who previously rated and said they missed the breakfast, I can tell you one thing...

No, you didn't.

The breakfast is anything other than decent. Milk is keep in unrefrigerated dispensers from 7-10 a.m. The orange juice isn't fit to be given away free (orange colored sugar water), and the cream cheese looks like cottage cheese because it was frozen for who knows how long.

Sleep in your car instead. Same experience... but it won't cost you any money.

Room Tip: Book in another hotel. Best advice I can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmpd2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Traveling to the country on my own...hotel all prepaid for...what did it look like something from the film "guest house paradiso". Awful smell, plaster coming off the walls, staff not giving me directions to the room (or offer to give me a hand with 2 heavy suitcase) you have to walk up at 90degree angle to get to the rooms to begin with. It felt like i was going to get dragged backwards by the cases at one point. At the top of the slope or MOUNTAIN there was no signs for which way which rooms were...I got told I was on the first floor...was I hell as like!!!
Finally after what felt like an hour just to find the rooms, I went in to find the bedding had stains on it and there was a weird smell, also spiders webs round the outsides of all the windows, dirty curtains/netting

OVERALL AWFUL AWFUL place to stay...and the staff arent very useful either!
Thank fully I didnt stop the night there, I dont think I'd of slept anyway the doors/locks didnt seem that safe!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slt216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel arrange a shuttle service into NYC which was really handy. The hotel looks good on it's website, but is actually quite poor. Our room was dirty, as was the hot water (it was coming out brown and we had not been warned by reception). The heating didn't work too wel - we had a choice of either being far too cold or far too hot. The hotel was RIGHT NEXT TO a very busy highway and consequently we were kept awake by traffic noise all night. Soundproofing between rooms was also a problem and there was no remote for the TV.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Pros: Big room, easy check-in & out, free parking, 20mins drive to Manhattan, free breakfast
Cons: Room needs update, they look run down, WiFi very weak

Stayed here just after Christmas'11 when visiting New York with my brother. We just needed a decent place to shower & sleep close to Manhattan. If you're looking for a cheaper place to stay than Manhattan but close by, check this out. Manhattan is a short drive via the tunnel. There's a PATH train station some place close, but we drove. Woke up too late to try the free breakfast, there's a Dunkin Donuts & a Wendy's close by too. Great if you just need a place to stay, the room we stayed in was really big (2 queen beds). The place needs a general update, the furniture, carpet, etc were old. It seemed as if no care of taken when maintenance was done. If you'd be spending time in the room or have someone who's fussy, look elsewhere. There are lots of choices nearby - Comfort Inn, Days Inn, to name two.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srajendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
1.2 km away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Bergen
640 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.1 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 9 in North Bergen
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
4.0 km away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,140 reviews
2.7 km away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson North Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson North Bergen

Address: 1300 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range: $116 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson North Bergen 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson North Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing