We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson North Bergen
Nearby Hotels
USD 115*
USD 111*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 216*
USD 130*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 178*
USD 138*
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 124*
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(North Bergen)
USD 135*
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites North Bergen(North Bergen)(Great Value!)
USD 171*
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 212*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 199*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
29
70
127
90
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
70
127
90
165
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel arrange a shuttle service into NYC which was really handy. The hotel looks good on it's website, but is actually quite poor. Our room was dirty, as was the hot water (it was coming out brown and we had not been warned by reception). The heating didn't work too wel - we had a choice of either being far too cold or far too hot. The hotel was RIGHT NEXT TO a very busy highway and consequently we were kept awake by traffic noise all night. Soundproofing between rooms was also a problem and there was no remote for the TV.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Pros: Big room, easy check-in & out, free parking, 20mins drive to Manhattan, free breakfast
Cons: Room needs update, they look run down, WiFi very weak

Stayed here just after Christmas'11 when visiting New York with my brother. We just needed a decent place to shower & sleep close to Manhattan. If you're looking for a cheaper place to stay than Manhattan but close by, check this out. Manhattan is a short drive via the tunnel. There's a PATH train station some place close, but we drove. Woke up too late to try the free breakfast, there's a Dunkin Donuts & a Wendy's close by too. Great if you just need a place to stay, the room we stayed in was really big (2 queen beds). The place needs a general update, the furniture, carpet, etc were old. It seemed as if no care of taken when maintenance was done. If you'd be spending time in the room or have someone who's fussy, look elsewhere. There are lots of choices nearby - Comfort Inn, Days Inn, to name two.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srajendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Despite the inconvinient location (by busy streets and intersections) The hotel may look good in pictures, but the room we stayed in reeked of must and mold. The wallpaper was falling off the walls revealing mold and grime, the floors in the bathroom were filthy and grimy as well. The sheets on the bed were stained and the pillows were completely flat and lifeless as well as unpleasantly smelling. The floor of the bath tub was black and brown where it was originally white and the faucet in the bathroom was leaky. Customer service was meteocre at best, the staff consists of one family who are rather impatient and uncaring about the customers as well as unhelpful. We utilized the shuttle service to the city because of its decent pricing, however, the shuttle was stopped by the police only to find that the bus driver had no license, resulting in everyone on the bus having to get off and having to find their own rides without a refund of their money. A taxi ride from this hotel to the Empire state building or times square is 48 dollars plus the 12 dollar toll, making it a whopping $60 plus tip one way. I would not reccomend this hotel. There is a beautiful hotel right next door to it and behind it, I would highly reccomend staying there instead. Also, if needing wheel chair accessibility, think again, because the only thing wheelchair accessible is the ain office, the rooms themselves are located atop a very steep hill.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hallie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here during october snowstorm. Staff are honest and friendly. Rooms are average and cleaner than we anticipated. More expensive than worth.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inro41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

i will come back here. very good price i will recomend to my friends. it was pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joerg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews