We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Only Game in Town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Georgian Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Montclair B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Only Game in Town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The Georgian Inn is your only option in Montclair. It's definitely not the Hilton. The location is close to some great restaurants and also a Whole Foods. The rooms are worn and felt dirty, although the linens were all immaculate. Montclair is a close train ride into NYC and the Black & White Cab service is very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shakespeare4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I have traveled the world over: Middle East, Africa, South America, Asia, etc. and the Georgian Inn in Montclair is about what I would expect in a cheap hotel in the most remote and backward parts of the world: food left over from previous occupants in the fridge, stained fixtures, trashed furnishings, a sink so clogged that it fills before the water runs hot, virtually undetectable (and certainly not controllable) heat/air and towels that were a most unpalatable shade of light brown. In Samarkand or Jimma or Penang a borderline hotel like this might cost you $25 a night and you'd be no worse for wear. But seriously, $200 a night for a run-down, ill-maintained and unstaffed rooming house in central Jersey? Next time I'll drive a bit farther, pay a lot less and feel MUCH better about my decision.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montclair hotels

Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Beautiful house, rooms have lots of character. Bed is comfortable and room is spacious. Small bathroom. Not cleaned well, hair in shower, used floss on the floor, rotten apple core behind the bed. No coffee cups or coffee/tea. Did have a microwave and refrigerator. Broken ironing board. Toilet kept running. No cleaning service on weekends which would be fine if they left us with enough toilet paper (we had to buy our own) and clean towels (we ran out). Staff was friendly. With some renovation and more attention to detail, this could be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank elemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/ New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

It is a great inn, the rooms are large and bed was comfy. When we arrived (the inn only has the office staffed for a few hours, three days per week), our keys had not been left for us as agreed, so we needed to call the emergency number. After just 10-15 minutes the housekeeper arrived and showed us to room A3. It was made up, but a bit grubby. It was a large room with a soda, tv and mini kitchen area.
The following morning Marcia who runs the inn said we were supposed to be in A1, she was very sorry about the mix up, and said we were free to move room or stay in A3. We changed to A1 which was huge, with a separate lounge and kitchen. Fantastic value, we paid just under $800 for the week.
The rooms are cleaned daily during the week, but still manage to look grubby. We had to clean the bathroom (and even buy some sink and plug unblocker).
We would recommend, for the size of rooms, convenience, free wifi, and Montclair location, just don't expect Hilton standards.
They also offer long term rentals, and many guests I think were long termers, very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L0nd0nChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

we had a great vacation point at the Geogian inn, we arrived and found the keys to our accomadation in the post box as agreed ,the size of our room surprised us as it was the bottom half of the house with large kitchen, large bedroom, lounge ,small bedroom, porch, and a good sized bathroom, more than we required ,the towels were changed on a daily basis ,and loads of parking space The furnishings were a little old and distressed but apart from that we had no complaints .
If you are looking for Hilton hotel standards you wont find them here , but for the price it was perfect and the staff friendly we will go back sometime soon hopefully .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lassie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montclair
3.2 km away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.0 km away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.9 km away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
8.2 km away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
7.8 km away
Holiday Inn Totowa
Holiday Inn Totowa
#1 of 1 in Totowa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Inn

Property: Georgian Inn
Address: 37 N Mountain Ave, Montclair, NJ 07042-2317
Region: United States > New Jersey > Montclair
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montclair
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Inn offers 12 unique, well-appointed rooms and warm, welcoming hospitality to our guests. This handsome Georgian mansion was converted to an Inn in the 1940s. The Inn preserves many architectural features of a bygone era which makes it an historical landmark. The spacious rooms and suites feature kitchenettes, private baths, cable TV, telephone and complimentary high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia APAC so you can book your Georgian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel Montclair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing