We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, comfy beds, but a little too quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bungalow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bungalow Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location, comfy beds, but a little too quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visitng from UK on business, cleanliness standards are high, particularly in the rooms. Hotel lobby is a little confused between reception desk / bar / pool room.
Scott (hotel manager) very obliging but other staff a little frosty. Rooms very spacious with really nice glass fronted fires and fantastically comfy beds. Very good wifi service all over hotel.
Room had a full kitchenette but strangely not one item of crockery or utensils, not even a spoon!
Plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and snack places nearby and whilst the loction is not on the beach it is only 100yds away. Not really a business hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter away from busy road as the hotel is near an intersection
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    48
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
42
104
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Spent this last weekend in Long Branch at the Bungalow Hotel for a girls getaway....Scott (hotel manager) couldn't have been more helpful in making our quick weekend most enjoyable. The room itself was beautiful and spacious - and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Loved how the whole Hotel was decorated....Just when I thought I had seen it all, a different piece of art or an adorable lamp shade showed itself to me. Enjoyed having cocktails out by the outdoor fireplace and loved the fireplace in the room as well. Alreading planning our summer girls getaway back at the Bungalow. Adorable!!!

Room Tip: Loved the Hula Room:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We got married in Long Branch on top of the Avenue restaurant/club back in July a few years ago. We loved the hotel design and rooms, but we also did our research and knew there were some shortcomings.

As you can see from the photos, the hotel is very modern chic and feels like a stylish 5-star Manhattan property that celebrities would stay at. Since we were getting married, the receptionist upgraded us from a regular room to a massive corner suite (Room 301) at no charge. Obviously a huge plus and a great surprise.

Our wedding photographer was amazed at how many great photos she was able to take with the backdrop of the stylish lobby and suite.

Other positives (Suites may be different than regular rooms):
- Excellent service. Anything that was in their control was handled perfectly.
- Close to the public beach (though you should know that beach access requires a fee to the city, not the hotel)
- Right by Pier Village shops and restaurants.
- Large spacious bathroom and amazing shower in the suites (but they're in the same room as the bedroom without a separating wall - see photos)
- Small kitchen space with a sink and fridge
- Fireplace, but we didn't use it since it was July

Drawbacks:
- Unlike a full service hotel, there's no restaurant/food available
- Use of a gym/pool is at another building (5 min walk) and for a fee
- Not a cheap stay and they require a 2 night stay on summer weekends, but I guess the forces of Supply & Demand are in effect
- We asked if they would do a discount block of rooms for wedding guests, but they declined

Overall, I think they did an amazing job with the limited physical space of the building. Obviously a free pool on location would be a great, but given you're steps away from the beach, not sure how many people would use it so I understand why they don't have it. That being said, you would think it should be included for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Even the rooms with a view don't have an amazing view, but if you want, try for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Songer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Bungalow Hotel was a fun experience for a quick winter getaway, but didn't feel like the "luxury lifestyle" it calls itself. Loved: vintage foosball table in lobby, comfortable beds, fireplaces in each room. Access to Pier Village, with lots of restaurants and shops, a real plus. But - a luxury hotel room without a coffeemaker? Coffee is avaialbe in lobby, and great muffins next door. No robes, tiny bars of dial soap are not "luxurious", very low sofas were not comfortable to sit down or get off of. Once white rugs need to be replaced. No fresh flowers (as advertised on site). There are "expansive window walls", but absolutely no views; hotel is a block from the ocean. Link on website to terrific Avenue Restaurant is misleading, since it is not next to hotel but on next block. Great at winter rates, not so sure I'd feel the same if top notch summer prices were paid. Staff all very nice.

Room Tip: no double bedded rooms are available, but some rooms have day bed sofas that function as twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Subject: Thanks Very Much-Bungalow Hotel-Jersey Shore
Dear Greg,

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the BUNGALOW HOTEL in September. You and your staff were very friendly and helpful; this added much to my five day fall visit.

The BUNGALOW is definitely the place to stay on the Jersey Shore----a great, beautiful, architecturally stunning, creatively decorated hotel. A wonderful home away from home.

The BUNGALOW will be our NJ destination when we travel again to Jersey Shore and we look forward to seeing you on our next East Coast trip.

Please give my best to your staff and a special thank you to you for running a terrific hotel.

We look forward to a future visit.

Thanks much and and all the best!

John & Nancy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnOrange_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Branch
2.7 km away
Cedars & Beeches
Cedars & Beeches
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
9.0 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Oyster Point Hotel
Oyster Point Hotel
#2 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
8.8 km away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
3.4 km away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Hotel

Property: Bungalow Hotel
Address: 50 Laird St, Long Branch, NJ 07740-8100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price range (per night): $231 - $675
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bungalow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalow Hotel is the Jersey Shore's only authentic boutique hotel. Located in Pier Village, just steps from the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms have oversized king beds, flat screen tvs, fireplaces, wet bar with refrigerators, and original art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Hotel Long Branch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing