We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated and smells like smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dated and smells like smoke”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Although very well located, this hotel has seen better days. As soon as you step in the lobby the smell of smoke hits you. The first room we were given had a very strong smoky smell, the second, much better.

The staff was nice. The entire place needs a redo.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodib452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    146
    55
    29
    26
See reviews for
157
97
38
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This place was just tattered around the edges and did smell like smoke esp. in the hallways.The cleanliness was okay and once in the room it was quiet.The side door by the parking was unlocked which isn't very safe.We stayed there to be close to a family event and the town is cute.

Room Tip: Don't really know that .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinboro, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here two nights to visit Manhattan and Brooklyn. CHeck in at noon on Saturday. Was in NYC penn station by four and that is dilly dallying, taking showers, getting ready, eating, etc. About a mile drive from Kenilworth Inn to the train station in Roselle Park. Buy a one way adult ticket from Roselle to NYC penn. you have to get off at Newark Penn and get on another train, I believe.. or maybe thats how it was for the way back but there you stayed on.. either way they will tell you.. its so quick and easy.. one way was 7.25 per ticket. Once we got to NYC we bought a subway pass. these work on subways and busses.. we traveled all over the place, from park slope brooklyn to the bridge to chelsea, soho, tribeca, harlem, and east village., it was beuatiful and fun trip and the best part was getting to leave the crazy hustle and bussle and come back to our cute little room in kenilworth, nj. We took the train back at 11:15 each night but there is one that runs at 1AM too if you are planning on staying out late in the city. The room was roomy, clean.. the shower was nice and it had a million channels on the tv. We will stay here again. also a complimentary breakfast!!! bagels cereal coffee orange joice danishes.

Room Tip: all seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our call-in reservation went very well and so did the check-in process. I should have followed my first thought, check the rooms out before paying. I reserved a King and a double-double. King room was horrible (cigarette holes in the bedding, dirty carpet, dirty shower/sink, ants, cracking commode seat, pancake pillows); double-double (closet was infested with knats/flies, smelly, dirty floors, plugs all broken, cigarette holes, smelly).....nasty.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times, but were a little nervous this time, having read some of the recent negative reviews, but our experience this past weekend was as good as always. (The only negative is the odor of smoke in the hallways, which should be addressed.) But the staff is friendly and our need for some fresh lightbulbs was immediatelly and cheerfully addressed, even late in the evening when we returned to the room. The manager, desk staff, and breakfast hostess are all wonderful, and we look forward to seeing them next time.
ESK, Maryland

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
4.1 km away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
8.4 km away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
6.6 km away
Best Western Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
9.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
10.3 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Property: The Kenilworth Hotel
Address: 60 S 31st St, Kenilworth, NJ 07033-1302
Region: United States > New Jersey > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price range (per night): $172 - $270
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is a beautifully designed boutique hotel set in bucolic Northern New Jersey, just a short distance to the action in New York City and close to Newark International airport. The Kenilworth's exceptional service, affordable rates, and convenient location make our hotel the perfect spot for business, vacations and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TravelClick, Otel, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
Kenilworth Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing