We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Applebee's with flare!”

The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: NJ 12
Transit: The Link Bus (local Hunterdon County transit service), Transbridge Bus Lines (PA, NJ & NYC commuter service).
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Nothing special here! It disappoints me to say but I do say AVOID! Not worth it! I've said it before go were the locals go and you will see no locals here?! Why! It's a tourist trap! It's good food but nothing WOW! Or even new! It's good. Ok it's good at the there price? No! There living on 1985 reputation!

Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017

What a great place to get a specialized mixed drink created by the bartender, Mike! The small plates are tasty and the entrees have generous portions. The bar is a warm, comfy place to spend some time on a Saturday afternoon. Great food, great drinks, great service. . . What a delight!

Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

And what a delight it is for us to respond to your incredible review!!! You absolutely captured the essence of what we do, creating a warm and comfortable space for our patrons to enjoy their time in Frenchtown, with our dedicated staff (especially Mike who always goes out of his way) catering to our guests' needs. We are absolutely thrilled to know that you carved out the time to share this with the TripAdvisor community and cannot thank you enough. We look forward to welcoming you back to The National Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Went there a couples now, always have excellent service and a great meal. The bartender mike is the best!

Thank Ambeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Mike is THE KING in Frenchtown!! He absolutely kills it!! His dedication to The National Hotel's patrons is undeniable, and moreover, his professionalism and absolute love for what he does shows day in and day out. Thank you for sharing your incredible review and feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Had dinner with my wife's family. Mike, our bartender and restaurant server was very helpful. We started at the bar with drinks and the chicken nachos. Great nachos! Dinner was great. Everyone had something different from the menu. We all enjoyed our meals. Plan to go there again when we are in Frenchtown.

1  Thank BlizzardHockeyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Terrific!! We look forward to welcoming you back to The National Hotel the next time you are in Frenchtown. We thank you for your wonderful feedback and are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us ranging from the food to the service you received from our bartender, Mike. Our staff's dedication in the care they take from the food that is creatively crafted to the level of service offered, is priceless. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Decent drinks. Bartender was a bit cocky. Nice stop in area though. Should be open later. Would go again.

2  Thank maaafoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad that you were able to carve out the time to stop by. We are always happy to see new guests and extremely gratified when they make The National Hotel a place to which they like to return. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing