We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome birthday dinner...”

The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: NJ 12
Transit: The Link Bus (local Hunterdon County transit service), Transbridge Bus Lines (PA, NJ & NYC commuter service).
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. Always wanted to go, finally did, and will definitely be back for sure. The service was amazing to start, and the bartender superb. The grilled scallops and watermelon is a must have as an appetizer. The shrimp risotto was great, as well as the turkey and brie sandwich. The canoli martini...wow. The ambiance of the place is great too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dave911nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your experience at The National Hotel and that you will return!! We have shared your feedback with our staff, complimenting them on the quality of the food and the level of service that you describe as "amazing;" that is just wonderful! Our bartender is such a pro, and we are thrilled that you found his service and the martini to exceed your expectations. Again thank you for celebrating this important day with us and we are pleased to know that we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016

The food is great and the dining room bar is just gorgeous. Must be quite old, as is the hotel, but beautifully kept and charming. We love going here in winter when there are few tourists and the atmosphere is so warm and welcoming as we come in from the cold. My husband, the Burger Man, says the blue cheese burger is outstanding and it always looks thick and juicy. The menu is an interesting blend of basic American and Indian -- (Indian as in India, not Native American) dishes. We've never had anything here that was less than tasty, and the service is prompt and friendly. Only thing we're not crazy about is the downstairs tavern, which is dreary with low ceilings and a dingy feeling, but many locals swear by it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 673annf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

We're so glad that you continue to make the time to visit The National Hotel in Frenchtown. We're incredibly pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the different things you have tried on our menu, and knowing that your husband favors our Insanity Burger is great feedback that we've shared with our Executive Chef. You are also quite right that it is a historic establishment. The original building dates back to 1833, and current edifice opened its doors in 1851. The Hotel itself has 10 guest suites, and the cellar is original to the building, with The Rathskeller Tavern opening its doors as a pub in the 1980s. Visitor and local residents love the programs that are offered there, including Tuesday Bi-Weekly Trivia, Wednesday Karaoke, Thursday Open Mic Night, Saturday Night Live Music, and more. We also have Sunday Musical Afternoons w/live music (5-7) in our main upstairs Restaurant and Bar. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and thank you for your continued patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We have eaten at the National twice now over the past few months. Food and drink have both been inventive and delicious.

This last visit, we sat at the bar and I have to compliment bartender Mike. He is very creative in crafting their signature cocktails, and we're always delighted to meet an artful and enthusiastic bartender.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LancerX6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

We are so appreciative of your feedback, and especially to learn that you were so pleased by our bartender. Mike is truly an incredible member of our staff who goes out of his way to pay attention to detail and make every patron's experience the absolute best it can be. Again, thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Have driven past this place 2 times per day on commute to work for several years now and just never stopped until recently. What a HUGE surprise we had. We didn't expect the quality or the service we received. It was much more than we had anticipated and now explains why their front patio is always "busy" when we drive by during dinner hours during the week.
We ate from the regular menu. I had the Oysters. They were clearly well done. Scrubbed clean, opened properly and scooped for ease of eating and served with 2 different sauce options and plated on a bed of fresh whole salt with lemons. Nice touch. I also had the West Indies Fish Special. It was Atlantic Cod and it was really well prepared and exceptionally flavorful but not overpowering. Hubby had the Chicken prepared Indian style with Curry and Tandori. He didn't say a word while eating plate, too busy enjoying it to even say it was that good until he "made all gone".

Our waiter was so pleasant and professional (Mike) and well versed in the options on the menu and offered suggestions. Checked on us often, never rushed but didn't leave a plate sit more than 5 minutes before he scooped it up to clear away.

Wine by the glass is a reasonable list and cost is fair for the size pour they gave.

Thoroughly enjoyed and will stop more when we have time to "eat out" and the kids don't have a "commitment" while we are on our way home from office.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DMKANDOIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

What an absolute treat to read your review! We've made sure our staff is aware of your feedback and how pleased you are with your experience at The National Hotel. It's wonderful to learn that you'll visit us again, and we are confident that you'll find the service and the quality of the food and drinks to be consistent, thanks to our dedicated staff, from our servers and bartenders, to our team in the kitchen. It gives us such joy to know that your truly enjoyed your experience in Frenchtown, and we are grateful that you shared this with the TripAdvisor community. Many, many thanks for all the accolades and wonderful comments as to all the things that made your time with us enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to The National Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Fabulous food!!! The dining room bar and the Tavern downstairs are great places to meet he locals is this charming town!

1  Thank TheReeds2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

You captured the essence of Frenchtown in your review! It is an absolutely charming Delaware River town filled with artists, musicians, unique shops and galleries, and great places to spend a day (or a lifetime). Thank you for the review, and thank you for making the time to share your feedback on how welcoming our main Restaurant and Bar, and our cellar tavern (The Rathskeller) are to residents and visitors alike! Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing