We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, better bar”

The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: NJ 12
Transit: The Link Bus (local Hunterdon County transit service), Transbridge Bus Lines (PA, NJ & NYC commuter service).
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We have eaten at the National twice now over the past few months. Food and drink have both been inventive and delicious.

This last visit, we sat at the bar and I have to compliment bartender Mike. He is very creative in crafting their signature cocktails, and we're always delighted to meet an artful and enthusiastic bartender.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LancerX6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

We are so appreciative of your feedback, and especially to learn that you were so pleased by our bartender. Mike is truly an incredible member of our staff who goes out of his way to pay attention to detail and make every patron's experience the absolute best it can be. Again, thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2016

Have driven past this place 2 times per day on commute to work for several years now and just never stopped until recently. What a HUGE surprise we had. We didn't expect the quality or the service we received. It was much more than we had anticipated and now explains why their front patio is always "busy" when we drive by during dinner hours during the week.
We ate from the regular menu. I had the Oysters. They were clearly well done. Scrubbed clean, opened properly and scooped for ease of eating and served with 2 different sauce options and plated on a bed of fresh whole salt with lemons. Nice touch. I also had the West Indies Fish Special. It was Atlantic Cod and it was really well prepared and exceptionally flavorful but not overpowering. Hubby had the Chicken prepared Indian style with Curry and Tandori. He didn't say a word while eating plate, too busy enjoying it to even say it was that good until he "made all gone".

Our waiter was so pleasant and professional (Mike) and well versed in the options on the menu and offered suggestions. Checked on us often, never rushed but didn't leave a plate sit more than 5 minutes before he scooped it up to clear away.

Wine by the glass is a reasonable list and cost is fair for the size pour they gave.

Thoroughly enjoyed and will stop more when we have time to "eat out" and the kids don't have a "commitment" while we are on our way home from office.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DMKANDOIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

What an absolute treat to read your review! We've made sure our staff is aware of your feedback and how pleased you are with your experience at The National Hotel. It's wonderful to learn that you'll visit us again, and we are confident that you'll find the service and the quality of the food and drinks to be consistent, thanks to our dedicated staff, from our servers and bartenders, to our team in the kitchen. It gives us such joy to know that your truly enjoyed your experience in Frenchtown, and we are grateful that you shared this with the TripAdvisor community. Many, many thanks for all the accolades and wonderful comments as to all the things that made your time with us enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to The National Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Fabulous food!!! The dining room bar and the Tavern downstairs are great places to meet he locals is this charming town!

1  Thank TheReeds2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

You captured the essence of Frenchtown in your review! It is an absolutely charming Delaware River town filled with artists, musicians, unique shops and galleries, and great places to spend a day (or a lifetime). Thank you for the review, and thank you for making the time to share your feedback on how welcoming our main Restaurant and Bar, and our cellar tavern (The Rathskeller) are to residents and visitors alike! Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Always wonderful , fantastic food , beautiful setting , lovely stroll around town . It's just perfect and family friendly with polite children

Thank pmoran226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

5-stars!! What a terrific review. Thank you for carving out the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community! The beauty of Frenchtown is how welcoming it is and we're thrilled that you feel the same way, from the people to the natural beauty of our Delaware River town. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

I have passed this hotel, bar and restaurant for years and always see how crowded it is on weekends. I figured they must have good food, for so many people to patronize this establishment. So finally, my husband and I visited on a late Sunday afternoon. The dining room was quaint, comfortable and well decorated. The waiter took good care of us. I had the risotto and my husband had trout. Both dishes were very good and we enjoyed our meal and our time spent there. They also had live music that day which was very enjoyable. All in all it was a pleasant afternoon.

Thank robn4q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

We're so glad that you were able to make the time to stop in on a Sunday afternoon. Thank you for your kind words and for letting us know how much you enjoyed the dishes you had, as well as the live music that we offer every Sunday (as well as Saturday nights, downstairs in The Rathskeller Pub). Again, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The National Hotel and to Frenchtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing