We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A change of pace..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Located across the George Washington bridge from Upper, Upper Manhattan (Washington Heights ) , this place is a more affordable way to see New York City if you don't mind a little inconvenience.

From the hotel , it is really easy to catch a bus or van (about $3) to the George Washinton bus terminal which is connected to the A train subway at 175th street. It is a bit more challenging to get back to the hotel but doable if you coordinate it right.

The hotel is old and not spectacular but has some good qualities: lots of electrical outlets, free internet, nice towels , great (really great) bagels, Keruig coffee makers, a nice bar ( where they pour, not measure ) and self service laundry facilities .

the A is an express train during the day so you get to and from Time Square quickly but it has a whole lot of commuters at rush hours. This train also has access to the LGA bus and the JFK Air Train.

Washington Heights has really good ethnic foods and small markets and wine stores close to the bus terminal.

Give it a try, you will save a lot. Best for the adventuresome, not so much if you have small kids due to the effort to get into the main part of the city.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I'm a Spire Elite IHG member and I've stayed in this hotel on many occasions. It's 5 star service and a great location with easy access to NYC. It's got a nice pool area & free parking & free shuttle service for the local area. The restaurant & lounge are great with very reasonable prices and good food and services. Special kudos to Duane Hunter who took great care of my needs to make my stay very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Great location for easy access to NYC or venues in New Jersey. I paid $129 for a last minute booking of a 2 bed queen room. Very clean. I arrived late and was happy that the lobby was stocked with good vending machines since there is no room service. Simple and great value.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank KatMom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This is a bad hotel which is poorly managed. My husband and I stayed here last weekend. We were in a non-smoking section of the hotel and yet smoke could clearly
be smelled coming from one of the rooms which was supposed to be non-smoking also. There was a dog barking and the room that we stayed in smelled like dog. We were told
this was a pet free hotel. (No way that this was true) I complained to the front desk 3 times and nothing was done about the smoking or the dog barking. Upon check-out the Manager offered to change our room--REALLY??. I highly recommend staying at another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nice/taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello nice/taste,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your visit at the Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area, NJ. I appreciate you choosing our hotel chain.

I feel concerned that your stay was not as comfortable as it should have been due to the room's condition and its upkeep. It is our goal to make your accommodations acceptable and I have sent you a private message to get more details of your reservation.

Despite the shortcomings, I hope that you will give us another chance to make it up to you!

Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Anna B
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over the past weekend with a large group taking over about 20 rooms. We knew what to expect from past reviews however we did not realize how bad it actually was until we got there. The hallways and rooms smell like mold they should definitely look into changing all the carpets. My boyfriend and I stayed on the 2nd floor Room 225 and on the 1st day noticed 1 ant on the little work desk. We didn't think much of it. The following day there was another ant. Then on our last night he had one crawling on his arm in bed. I pulled the pillow back and found another one. Then we started to worry. He pulled the bed comforter over and saw about 20 more ants in the bed. We wanted to throw up it was disgusting. We called front desk and told them and they sent someone up with new sheets expecting us to change it. We couldn't believe it. We went down to the lobby and had them change our room. The other guests we were with all said their rooms were not the cleanest either. Also one of the days the cleaning staff forgot to give us new towels. With regards to location the hotel it is about 20-45 minutes from New York depending on traffic. Staff was accommodating with helping us with all this, but management should look into having this hotel re-vamped, cleaned and exterminated for bugs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cassandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi Cassandra G,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm sorry to read that the cleanliness of our room and hallways did not live up to your expectations. Please allow me to follow up on your concerns and have the opportunity to regain your faith in us. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain additional information.

We value you as our guest and looking forward to your response.

Regards,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lee
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
0.3 km away
Best Western Fort Lee
Best Western Fort Lee
#3 of 6 in Fort Lee
356 reviews
2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Teaneck Marriott at Glenpointe
3.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
#1 of 2 in Ridgefield Park
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area

Address: 2339 State Rt 4, Fort Lee, NJ 07024-3211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Fort Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Price Range: AU$144 - AU$232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn at the George Washington Bridge, your Gateway to New York City!. Located in Fort Lee, New Jersey, our hotel is positioned for easy access into New York City, just minutes from Manhattan. Situated between La Guardia Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport, this Holiday Inn is convenient to New York shopping, a day at Yankee Stadium or relax at our Outdoor Pool (Memorial Day to Labor Day).Enjoy a relaxing stay at the New York area's best-kept secret!Local corporations include Unilever, LG, Samsung, CitiGroup and AGFA. Also, we are right in the center of colleges such as FDU, Manhattan College, Columbia University and Fordham University. Family and friends stay at the Holiday Inn of Fort Lee when visiting relatives at NY Columbia Presbyterian Hospital, Holy Name Hospital, Englewood Hospital, Hackensack Medical Center or Palisade General Hospital. So, stay where everyone in the know stays...the Holiday Inn GWB-Fort Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Lee Hotel Fort Lee
Fort Lee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing