We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montreal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
“Great hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

very friendly staff, beutiful views and also great restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZISU T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    184
    46
    23
    17
See reviews for
226
250
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I have been going to Cape May every summer for the past 3 years and we love it! We used to stay at the Atlas Inn, but have always wanted to try Montreal based on recommendations from friends. This past summer we went with a group of six and had an absolute blast. We stayed in a basic king sized room right on the first floor. Very convenient as you opened out sliding glass doors and you were steps away from the tiki bar and pool. Room was extremely clean. Dated, but who really cares. Our friends stayed in suites. One was very very modern, the other less so, but both were really beautiful. Check in was a breeze and the women at the front desk were extremely friendly and welcoming. we loved that you didn't have to purchase beach badges!

We loved the happy hour and the bartenders were great! We met lots of people that go every year and we could totally understand why. Its within walking distance of EVERYTHING and much, much nicer than the Atlas Inn was before it became a boutique hotel. The hotel provides beach chairs and for a small fee you can purchase a little cabana for the day. The only downside was, the service at the restaurant was so so. We only ate breakfast and lunch there and went fancy for dinner. We love Cape May and we will be mainstays at the Montreal Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KikiNYC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stay here every year and always enjoy our stay. The new renovations are nice but the living area is much smaller. The bathrooms are much nicer now though! I wish the restaurant had better happy hour specials like they used to. The parking lot is much too small though...that would be my biggest problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NittanyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We have been coming to the Montreal Inn for about 6 years and just had another great experience. Rooms are spotless, towels are lush and service is friendly. We wish there were a larger table on the balcony to make it easier to have breakfast or lunch al fresco and enjoy the beautiful view.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed at Montreal Inn during 3rd week of Sept. Hotel was clean, beach accomodations great, attached restraurant convenient and good food. Rented a renovated efficiency, but rooms were so small. Had to store empty luggage in my car. Positioning of poolside tables are located too close to rooms on 1st level that guests on other levels made to feel they don't belong there. Had altercation with 1st level guest saying that I didn't belong using (what she perceived) as her table & chairs (despite signs that state they are for use by all guests).
1st level guests would put items on tables all night so no one else could use them (even when not in use by them). Office staff didn't want any involvement to resolve. Kind of ruined the atmosphere for me. Neither I, nor family members traveling with me, will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Beach front views are great. Wouldn't want any other view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Noreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#18 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.1 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.4 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price range (per night): $189 - $275
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing