We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
65
36
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
36
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street car port second bedroom ocean front already booked for next year an early riser higher floor housekeeping staff the air conditioning quiet at night clean rooms condo units suite balcony beach accommodations
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We have stayed in the Summer Station in the past and weren’t happy with it but had decided to give them another chance by upgrading our accommodations. We booked a larger suite this time and weren’t disappointed. The two bedroom was quite nice. The hotel was quiet and kept very clean. The room smelled fresh with all the kitchen amenities being spotless. The bathroom was ample for my wife and myself. Not needing anything more than a clean bed and bathroom, since we were there to sun and socialize outside the hotel, the extra comforts were a nice option and made a pleasant place to spend down time between beach, eating and site seeing. The Summer Station has ample private parking, however be advised, the spots are tight and could be a challenge for a novice driver or perhaps some one with a full size SUV or car. My only issue is the lack of a 24/7 staff. I understand that this is a seaside resort and life is very laid back here. This doesn’t change the need for some kind of human presence on the hotel grounds. I’m an early riser and tend to be out and about by 5:30. After taking a stroll down the main street I saw that there was an incident at one of the larger hotels whereby FD and EMS were dealing with some guests there. Being a retired NYC first responder this highlighted the need for a human presence at every hotel. Phone numbers and contact information is all well and good, but in emergencies seconds do make a difference and this hotel…as well as every hotel….would be best served to have a 24/7 attendant. Baring this, I would give our stay a 5 star rating for cleanliness, service and accommodations.

Room tip: 215, 315 and 4 are home runs!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisjaco1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We have been saying at Summer Station for over 15 years every summer. We love it! The rooms are spacious - full size kitchen, living room, dining area, and two sleeping areas. Roomy bathrooms, too. Washer/dryer in each room is a huge plus. The staff is always helpful. Full housekeeping services daily. Pool is clean, grounds are nice. Covered parking is available. Great views of the beach and stellar sunsets. Highly recommended for couples or families.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NancyG3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Whenever we get a chance to go to Cape May for vacation we always come back to Summer Station. Always very clean, friendly staff and well maintained! Thanks for an enjoyable stay and we will be back in the future. Thanks to Justin and Maryanne for their assistance. The housekeepers as well for supplying us with our needed essentials with a smile.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SamanthaT351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Summer Station is open year-round and its prices are always reasonable, especially in the off seasons which are the best times for birding, in any case. The units are actually condos which are rented out by the owners. You would never know this since the property is run like a hotel. The front desk staff is super nice and experienced. If you are a member of New Jersey Audubon, identify yourself as such and Kayla or Jason, the front desk staff, will quote you a discounted rate. Each unit has 2 bedrooms, full bath with shower/tub, a large living room with pull out sofa, full kitchen with large refrigerator, stove/oven, microwave, and dishwasher. On top of all that, each unit has a washing/machine dryer! Best of all, the units are kept IMMACULATE. For these reasons, Summer Station is great for families and extended stays. WiFi is good but reception depends on your location: you may have to move yourself and your device around your unit. Be sure to ask for the WiFi password on check in. For folks with accessibility issues, although there is an elevator, it does shut down at night so you should consider a first floor unit perhaps near the wheelchair ramp. For the agile, there are 2 separate stairways which lead directly to the parking lot/garage, plus a short back set leading to the elevator. For light sleepers like myself, you may need eyeshades and earplugs depending on your unit: sometimes music is playing in the adjacent properties and the sunlight can be brilliant at dawn. The beach is across the street and the Jetty gazebo is a short walk away. You can get inexpensive meals down the block at Uncle Bill's or the diner next door.

Room tip: Not surprisingly, the ocean view units are more expensive.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We spent five nights recently at Summer Station, and were very pleased with the property, which had been recommended to us by a fellow TripAdvisor fan. We never even took our beach chairs out of the car, as we had a tremendous view of the beach from our balcony. The condo was well equipped, but with no individual touches. Bed very comfortable. Lobby could use updating, but you're at the beach and you shouldn't be hanging out inside. One warning - during the off-season, the elevator closes at 5 pm. If your mobility is limited, get something on the first or second floor - the fourth floor is up 43 steps (but who's counting!). I would definitely go back here. Also, very reasonably priced in the off-season.

Room tip: Fourth floor, oceanside - no one above you, great view.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TheArdentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews