We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ausgezeichnet!”
Review of Gecko's

Gecko's
Ranked #26 of 153 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 18
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving casual cafe fair with a variety of regional dishes. Enjoy lunch in our cozy dining room or relax outside in our shaded garden. Call us for take out.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had a very memorable and excellent meal. Really enjoyed eating outside and appreciated how welcome the owner made our new puppy. Everything we had was fantastic....from the garlic bread to the chili in a bowl made from a squash. I found the portobello risotto with seasoned skirt steak amazing. Great desserts as well - don’t miss the pear cornbread pudding. We will return!

Thank F0urPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you very much for your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

We had our first experience with Geckos and it was A-plus. On a Saturday night at 7:30 when not too many restaurants were open, my husband stopped by to see how late they were open. The very pleasant woman at the counter told him if we get there before 8:00 we can stay as long as we wanted. He came home and told us and about 10 minutes later four of us descended on Geckos. We were warmly greeted and quite pleased with the seating area. Just about every table was taken but it was not noisy. We all found something good on the menu and really like our meals. The place is a bit eclectic but very comfortable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PAKatieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thanks for coming to Gecko‘s and for the nice feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We happened to be in the area; so we stopped here for lunch on a Friday. My wife and I both came away saying wow! Gecko's is a cute, cozy little place with a very comfortable atmosphere. For nicer weather they have some tree-covered outdoor seating. It was a bit cold and windy; so we ate indoors.

Order at the counter, find a table, and they'll bring the food out to you. The woman at the counter was friendly and helpful with deciding what to order, giving good descriptions of what they had to offer. As others have commented, they don't have a huge selection, but just about everything sounded interesting. They also had a number of specials that weren't on the regular menu. It wasn't an easy decision. On our way back to our table, as we passed the area where the fellow would prepare our food, he said hello and made us feel welcome. Great people!

We simply had water with our meal, which tasted good unlike a number of restaurants where we've eaten recently. The Pulled Lamb Flatbread ($14) and the Shrimp and Chorizo Quesadilla ($12.50) both were downright excellent. Every bit of both meals, from the meats & cheeses, the seasoning/sauce, diced peppers, slivers of onion, the greens, and even the pinto pintos tasted fresh. It all blended together perfectly, yet when we paid attention to it we could taste each of the wonderful flavors. The food itself was the part that really made us say wow. It was brought to our table shortly after we ordered, which surprised us considering how nicely it was prepared.

They have a single restroom for customer use only. It was clean and we have no complaint there.

This was a fun place with exquisite food and a great, friendly atmosphere. There were plenty of other things on the menu that we're looking forward to trying. In fact, the mixed-berry scones at the counter looked wonderful. (We should have bought one or two to go.) We'll most certainly stop back when we're in Cape May again.

Not being on the beachfront or near the mall area, you might miss it. Don't! This place is well worth the very short trip. And while you're there, stop down at West End Garage on the next block for a nice selection of small booths with a combination of antiques and a sampling of some of the things available from various shops and artists elsewhere in town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe_from_Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you so much for this praising review. It is always great to hear that our costumers are comfortable at Gecko’s and are enjoying there food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Excellent, Really gourmet flavors and prep. Wonderful casual outside garden ambiance. quesadilla best i've every had - fresh, tangy, delightful. Quinoa salad best i've ever had - wonderful flavors. Friendly, knowledgeable owners who prepare and serve the meals.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank macska2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thanks so much for the positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We have passed by Gecko's several times, but decided to stop in for the first time today. As others have mentioned, the menu is not huge with a Southwest focus, but I think that it does offer a nice selection for most tastes. My mother and I took a table nearest the kitchen's pick-up area and enjoyed listening to the fun banter between the cook and server. They seem to be genuinely nice people. My mother ordered Pork Posole off their everyday menu and I ordered Lima Bean Chili served inside of a roasted acorn squash from their "specials" board. Of course we each had to sample each other's meal when they arrived. Both dishes were well prepared, beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious! We also bought some pear bread pudding to take home. Can't wait to try it. We had been passing by such a great eatery all this time. We had no idea what we were missing. We HIGHLY recommend a visit. It is not the cheapest eats in Cape May, but it is very much worth every penny. We'll be making a habit of eating here. Both the food and the people are 5 stars!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckos123, Manager at Gecko's, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thanks for coming to Gecko’s and thank you as well for the nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gecko's also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Gecko's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing