We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It depends on what you are looking for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It depends on what you are looking for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I hate to write average reviews, because it really depends on what you are looking for in a B&B. We have been to many, and usually go to a different one in Cape May each year. The Hub and I just needed a getaway and this fit the bill. We had gift cards and they were offering a good deal. We did not need any extras. The Inn itself is a Victorian and as with any old home, it needs some work. The doors don't shut without a good shove, the porch leaks in the rain, the whole place needs a good dusting, and the windows need to be Windex'd. Visually it is a beautiful classic Victorian. We stayed in the "Nan and Opa" room. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable. The bathroom was tiny with a stall shower. The brass fixtures really needed a good cleaning. The bathroom door doesn't completely close. The location of this inn is prefect; so close to the beach and so close to Washington Street Mall. We did not use our car the entire weekend. The Innkeeper Joe was very nice and very down to earth. He is very knowledgable about the area. Joe is the owner and he prepared the breakfasts. He was very accessible and lived right there in the house. Since the house is old, you tend to hear everything like Joe's TV, which seemed like it was always on. There was no afternoon snack or bottled water. That only posed a problem when it was about 11pm and I wanted some water, although it is our own fault for not telling Joe. I am sure he would have accommodated us. Again he is a very nice person. I guess since we rarely get away together without the kids, we did not feel the need to complain about the little things. But if you are looking for all the extra's that some B&B's offer, this is not the place. But if you are looking for a basic Victorian B&B, in a perfect location this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mama0pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    86
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
44
315
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Jervis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at Beauclaires B&B for the Easter weekend and had a great time. Joe prepared a great breakfast each day and we met some really nice people. This time of the year is perfect to visit Cape May. Walking the empty beaches in sweatshirts was fabulous. We even saw dolphins playing while walking the shoreline to the lighthouse. The Inn is walking distance to everywhere you would want to go. The car stayed parked the whole time there. We also enjoyed sitting on the porch swing, which has a view of the ocean. I highly recommend staying at Beauclaires!

Room Tip: I recommend getting one of the rooms with the bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thinkbig269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We absolutely love Beauclaire's B&B. Diane and I have been coming to Cape May for many year's.(I asked Diane to marry me at Wildwood Crest 26 yrs ago). Beauclaire's was the best B&B wev'e stayed at in Cape May. The food was excellent. The room was amazing & Joe is a great host (we've become friends). Great location to downtown & the walk to the beach takes 45 seconds or less (depending on the traffic light). We will be coming back for our annaul weekend which is the week before Thanksgiving. i can't wait to see the Inn as they prepare the town for Christmas. Thank you Joe, for a fantastic weekend! Go Flyers!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19560
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

It feels like you are home or visiting your rich relative's beach house.
Just check in, take a hot shower, and go for a walk on the beach-right outside the door.
Your biggest decision is where are you going to eat tonight.
And that is not hard because Joe the inn keeper will have suggestions
to suite your needs. He knows the area like the back of his hand he lives there.
Really it is that simple. You can stay at this gorgeous Victorian Inn, at this great
Victorian Beach town and the best part is you don't have to pay the mortgage.
Now that's a vacation!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie19560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore NJ USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

A couple of weekends ago I got the pleasure of staying at Beauclaire's. It was amazing. The inn is beautiful and feels like you've stepped back in time. The Inn is located in the heart of Cape May, there are even ocean views from the front porch! Most everything was walkable. The Innkeeper Joe was so nice and knowledgable about the area. He also is quite the good cook . Breakfast was very tasty!
I would go back to this inn again in a heartbeat I would also highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brodyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.4 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.2 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.7 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.5 km away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#8 of 40 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price range (per night): $196 - $436
Hotel Class:3 star — Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauclaire's is a renowned Victorian style Bed & Breakfast open all year located in the historic district in Cape May, New Jersey. Just a half block from the beautiful Cape May beaches and one block from town center. All of our romantic guest rooms have queen or king size beds, ocean views, fireplaces and and are decorated with period antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beauclaire`s Hotel Cape May
Beauclaire`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing