We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant stay at the Marquis de Lafayette”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Upon arrival, we were offered a rate of $123, 50% off the rack rate; however, we were asked to initial an acceptance card which showed the full rate of $246. While in and of itself this was not a big deal, we did find it annoying since we had nothing in writing to indicate the lower rate. There was no mention of the breakfast buffet and we were not sure if was included or available.

When we got to our room we noticed a very musty smell. Hanging behind the TV was a bag containing the same type of flakes I use in my basement to eliminate excess moisture. The television was perhaps the oldest I had seen in a hotel in the past five years. When we went to bed, we found the sheets had some small holes, another indication of a lack of upkeep.

The evening was cool, so we decided to turn the heat on. Within a few minutes, the room filled with a burning odor and the smoke alarm went off. We opened the balcony door and put on the fan which eliminated some of the odor. We slept with the balcony door ajar all night.

In the morning, we relayed our experience to the front desk clerk. She attributed the smoke to a need for the AC unit to be cleaned. We also asked why no one had responded to the alarm and were told the room alarms are not wired to each other which I found to be a somewhat alarming safety hazard.

It has been a number of years since we had last stayed at the Marquis de Lafayette Hotel and it appears over these years the facility maintenance has been lacking. We once considered this one of the nicer places to say in Cape May, but obviously no longer have this opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ET_GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Maintaining an 84 unit, seashore resort hotel has its many challenges. "Lack of upkeep" is never the issue...it is quite the opposite! We have an extremely hard-working staff who do their jobs well even under the most difficult of situations and harshest of criticism. They look for solutions and make improvements on a daily basis with only the guests comfort in mind.

We are truly sorry that this customer did not enjoy their stay. However, it cannot be stressed enough that if there is ever a problem with accommodations it needs to be taken up with the staff immediately. Our primary concern is our customers' satisfaction throughout their stay. We can't make it right if we don't know about it. Guests have a much better overall experience when we are given the opportunity to correct issues reported to us than those who choose to "tolerate" a situation without asking for assistance.

Our "walk-in" rate mentioned was 50% off the regular rate and did not include breakfast, but a discount coupon was provided for the restaurant. The breakfast amenity is normally provided to customer who pay the regular rate and/or discounts up to 20-25% off the Published Rate. Advanced reservations are provided confirmation letters regarding their upcoming stay. Same day reservations are provided with a detailed summary showing all room charges, discounts, taxes upon the completion of the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 305 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

Great hotel right on the beach in Cape May. Nothing fancy but.....breakfast is included, the hotel has a nice pool (not too many kids until the afternoon), you can walk everywhere and it is centrally located on the main ocean drag. My sister and I have been coming back every summer for the last 9 years and have made it a tradition!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank manndoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Thank you for your patronage! We always enjoy seeing our returning guests each year. Maybe we can entice you to come back again with our attractive Specials & Packages priced just right for the off season months? If not, we look forward to seeing you again on your yearly pilgrimage! Until then, have a great year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I've been staying in the Marquis de Lafayette since 1977. While the hotel never thrills, it never disappoints either. The oceanfront location in the heart of town is hard to beat. The property has a "Victorian" look that although a bid faded is always clean and well kept. Many of the rooms have kitchenettes, which is useful. The hotel is oriented toward families as well as couples and friends. The pool isn't large, but it's nice enough for an in-town hotel. An excellent feature is the buffet breakfast with an extensive array of tasty offerings. In-season rates can be a bit high, but off-season rates are outstanding. Repeat guests are given a 25% discount.

Room Tip: The six-floor suites are delightful and worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhDTigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

We are truly appreciative of our returning guests! Surely a lot has changed since 1977, but the one thing that remains is that our service has always been consistent throughout the years. Change is important. For that reason we have brought back a full service restaurant to the property along with wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and added an 84th room to our inventory - the Windsor Suite. Our improvements may be subtle but they are always made with our guests' comfort and enjoyment in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We love the hotel. A very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great location in a beautiful setting, walking distance to some of the best fine dining in the state. If you like the Jersey shore, you'll love it here.

Room Tip: Every room is full ocean front, no leaning or stretching required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alphabet102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

we booked a last minute trip and wanted to bring our dog with us. this hotel was one of the few who were not full and could accomodate us. The rooms were expensive, but it was prime season. The pet friendly rooms have their own entrances right on Ocean Ave which was nice. the beach is literally across the street ( the dog friendly beaches are a short car ride away). The room was clean but tiny: a large bed,2 nightstands a dresser, tv, small fridge and microwave and tiny bathroom. I would reccomend this place if you want to spend all your time at the beach or sightseeing, not the kind of room you want to sit around in all day. overall it was a nice stay but the next time we go to cape may we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

We thank this customer for giving the Marquis de Lafayette Hotel a try this summer! We hope we will get another chance soon. Although they occupied one of the smaller Pet Friendly rooms, there are two other sizes of rooms that are more spacious out of the 17 designated units on the first floor. Our website has a great Pet Page outlining each room style and allowing customers to look at photographs and floor plans of each one prior to reserving. It is always best to reserve rooms ahead of time, especial if you are bringing a pet, so you can get the exact room style you want. Please be aware that due to high demand, pet room inventory is only available by contacting the hotel directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
1.7 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#10 of 37 in Cape May
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#17 of 37 in Cape May
263 reviews
0.9 km away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
576 reviews
0.9 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2402
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $200 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis de Lafayette is a premier hotel centrally located in America's original sea side resort. Our property is directly across the street from Cape May's amazing beach and within walking distance to Cape May's famous Washington Street Mall. Breakfast is served every morning in our restaurant 501 Beach, lunch & cocktails served daily at our poolside Barefoot Bar (in season), 1 Parking permit is provided for each room reserved. We are the pet friendliest hotel in Cape May with 17 Pet Friendly rooms! Reservations including pets may only be reserved directly through the hotel (NOT ONLINE) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing