We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know the Chegg...”

The Chicken or the Egg
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When we boast that there is something for everyone, it's not without merit. There are classic items and ones that are completely original and unique. And then there are the wings... A lot of places talk a good buffalo wing, but the "Chegg" as it is now commonly known, truly delivers. The wings are big, juicy and available in 17 sauces, both Original Breaded, or Naked. The Chicken or the Egg has become know locally and Nationally for these big beauties. And best of all, the whole menu (breakfast too) is available 24 hours a day (in season). But for us, it's not just about the food. It's about family. It's about camaraderie. It' s about good times. So come io in and join the family. Join the fun. You'll be happy you did. Oh, and sorry about the lines. People dig us. But it' s worth the wait.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You know the Chegg...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Great for wings and sandwiches. Was featured on Man vs. Food for hottest sauces. Be careful as ludicrus is just that.

Helpful?
Thank oilikeit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    164
    52
    27
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Chick or the Egg is a must go when vacationing on Long Beach Island. Although, the truth of the matter is that the food is less than mediocre and getting worse each and every year. I like the decor and the waiters are more than pleasant, although the food is nothing to write home about. The apple crisp for dessert is yummy. There are other places on the island that are better food for the value. Not for locals.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheena42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

My mother and I visited Beach Haven and found the Chicken and the Egg. We liked it so much and didn't want to cook, so we ate there three times! They have excellent LARGE portions of food, but good quality. There very berry pancakes had so many fresh raspberries and blueberries that it kept a fruit nut like me happy! I love places that serve breakfast all the time! They're known for their 15 different types of chicken wings, but I'm not a chicken wing person so didn't try them. We visited right before Chowderfest, and both my mom and I agreed they had the best red and white chowder. It was great mixed also! The staff was so helpful and friendly each time and of course they got to know us after the third time. I feel like I have some family in Beach Haven now!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NightowlMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Favorite family restaurant at the shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Each summer we stay in Beach Haven for the week. While there we often visit the Chicken or the Egg two to three times. It is great or the whole family. A nice menu that offers something for everybody. If you want breakfast, hamburgers, wings, or seafood, they have it. I have never had a bad meal there. I suggest the wings, steak and cheese sandwhich, the dragon burger, French onion soup, crab cake sandwich, and of course anything off of the breakfast menu!
During the peak season plan on waiting 1.5 hours before seating. Don't worry though, leave your name and take time to walk the strip and visit the many shops, stores, or sunset over the bay at the end of the street. Another suggestion if staying at the shore order your food for take out and go back to the beach or the beach house.
My kids love this place. It was also featured on the food network or the travel channel, I can't remember which one.
Service is good. People are friendly. Food is delicious. You can't go wrong with this americana establishment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mullen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown NJ USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hang 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great place to eat,hang out and make friends. The chicken wings are the best in NJ, their clam chowder was fantastic. Breakfasts are also bellly stuffers and SO good. Have a delicious shore treat there at any time.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italpr1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chicken or the Egg also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Surf City, Long Beach Island
 
Surf City, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to The Chicken or the Egg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing